Montana State University

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Membership

Name

Position

Represents

Babcock, Michael
mbabcock@montana.edu

Chair

Biosafety Committee

Bachar, Laurie
lbachar@montana.edu

Member

Other (Occupational Health)

Giroux, Michael
mgiroux@montana.edu

Member

Plant Expert

Kyler Pallister

Member

Lab Representative

Lei, Benfang
blei@montana.edu

Member

Other (Microbiologist)

Lubick, Kirk
kirk.lubick@montana.edu

Member

Voting Contact, BSO

McDaniel, Bryan
bmcdaniel@montanaoccupationalhealth.com

Member

Non-Affiliated

O'Rourke, Christine
cmorourke@montana.edu

Member

Animal Expert

Pulcini, Elinor
elinor_p@biofilm.montana.edu

Member

Other (Biofilms)

Sward, Sandra
ssward@montana.edu

Member

Other (Sponsored Program compliance)

Jutila, Mark
umbmj@montana.edu

Member

Other (Immunology)

Wiedenheft, Blake
blake.wiedenheft@montana.edu

Member

Other (rDNA)

Winton, Mark
mwinton@bdh-boz.com

Member

Non-Affiliated

Charge
Review and monitor all research and teaching activities involving infectious agents, hazardous chemicals, recombinant DNA, and genetically altered organisms and agents, and maintain an inventory of individuals using any of these agents. Suspend any activity not being conducted in accordance with the provisions of existing laws and guidelines. Supervise the annual inspection of HEPA filtered devices on campus.

Meetings
As required.

Membership
Voting Members: At least five individuals who collectively have experience and expertise in recombinant DNA technology and the capability to assess the safety of recombinant DNA research experiments and any potential risk to the environment or public health. At least two of the members shall not be affiliated with MSU and shall represent the interests of the community and environment. Other members are chosen on the basis of their experience in the areas of infectious agents, genetically altered organisms and viruses, and hazardous chemicals.

Length of Term
Term of office.

Appointed By
Director of the Office of Research Compliance

Chair
Current--Dr. Michael Babcock
Title--Professor, Psychology
Appointed By--Director of the Office of Research Compliance
Length of Term--Position Term

Advisory To
Director of the Office of Research Compliance


Membership; Updated February 7, 2014