Montana State University

Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173148
Bozeman, MT 59717-3148

Tel: (406) 994-5120
Fax: (406) 994-7077
Location: 510 Leon Johnson Hall

Department Chair

Frances Lefcort, Ph.D.


Cell Biology & Neuroscience Facebook Link

News & Events, 2009

Davison honored with L&S Dean's Award for Academic Excellence
Stephenie Davison, a student in cell biology and neuroscience from Sammamish, Wash., received the 2009 L&S Dean's Award for Academic Excellence which honrs the top two seniors in the college. Stephanie’s professional goal is to become a medical doctor, and she has been accepted to Pacific Northwest University’s School of Osteopathic Medicine.
2009 Harold Watling Scholarship recipient chosen
Kelcie Ann Rodriguez of Broadview received the 2009 Harold Watling Scholarship recognizing outstanding achievement by a senior pre-medical student at Montana State University-Bozeman. Rodriguez, a graduate of Broadview High School, graduated this spring with a degree in Biomedical Sciences. She has been accepted to the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine in Cincinnati, Ohio.
Merzdorf receives NSF CAREER award to study development of brain
Christa Merzdorf, a researcher who studies early development of the brain, has received the largest National Science Foundation CAREER Award in MSU history.
Merzdork, an assistant professor of cell biology and neuroscience, received a five-year grant totaling $765,677. With it, she plans to continue her research, develop a research-based course for advanced undergraduate students and create an educational module for middle school students around Montana. Read more...
Cell biology and neuroscience student receives Award for Excellence
Raima Amin was recognized as one of the top seniors at MSU with the Alumni Association/Bozeman Chamber of Commerce Award for Excellence. Honored students are nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service. Read more...