Montana State University

Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173148
Bozeman, MT 59717-3148

Tel: (406) 994-5120
Fax: (406) 994-7077
Location: 510 Leon Johnson Hall

Department Chair

Frances Lefcort, Ph.D.


Cell Biology & Neuroscience Facebook Link

Current News & Events

Eric Halverson was awarded a Public Health Internship from MSU INBRE.


Crabtree and Yoon Awarded Swingle Memorial Scholarship
Congratulations to CBN students, Michelle Crabtree and Esther Yoon!  They have been awarded the 2012 Swingle Memorial Scholarship for the CBN Department and each will receive $1500.00.  Two Ecology students are also winners of the 2012 award.
The Swingle Memorial Scholarship was established in 1944 in memory of Professor Deane B. Swingle, founder of the Montana State University Student Health Service.  It was expanded to further memorialize Dr. Karl Frederick Swingle, Elizabeth Carter Swingle and Stanley Swingle, all of whom received a degree from MSU.


Alniemi and Wright Awarded Harold Watling Scholarship
Congratulations to Dema Alniemi, CBN student, and Thomas Wright, Chemistry/Biochemistry student!  They are the winners of the 2012 Harold Watling Scholarship.  Each will receive $1500.00.
Mrs. Marjorie Bergan and her late husband, Dr. David Burgan, established the award to honor Dr. Harold Watling, a Professor of Zoology at MSC/MSU – Bozeman from 1947–1980. During that time, Dr. Watling was a highly respected pre-medical advisor.


Incoming CBN Student Kathryn McNamee Awarded 2012 Presidential Scholarship, Montana State University's most prestigious scholarship
Congratulations to Kathryn McNamee, graduate of Capital High School in Helena, MT. MSU Presidential Scholarship awards are based on scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership and personal qualities. Read more...

Congratulations to 2012 Letters and Science Award Winners Dr. Thom Hughes and Dr. Steve Eiger.
Dr. Hughes was presented with the Award for Meritorious Research and Creativity and Dr. Eiger won the Outstanding Teaching Award. Read more...
The 2012 CFSN Annual Montana Neuroscience Retreat was hosted by CBN from June 15-17 in Bozeman, MT at Montana State University. The retreat featured guest speakers Dr. Bryan Roth from University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and Dr. Jeff Lichtman from Harvard University Medical School. Read more...