## **Academic Deans' Council**

Minutes: Friday, April 13, 2018

9:15-11:15 am: President's Conference Room

| Voting Members                   |  |   |                                   |   |                                   |
|----------------------------------|--|---|-----------------------------------|---|-----------------------------------|
| Х                                | Robert Mokwa - Provost                     | Х | Charles Boyer – COA               |   | Sarah Shannon – CON               |
|                                  | Kenning Arlitsch – Library                 | Х | Brett Gunnink – COE               | Х | Michael Babcock – Faculty Senate  |
|                                  | Kregg Aytes – JJCBE                        |   | Robert Hietala – GC               | х | Nicol Rae- CLS                    |
| Х                                | Matthew Caires – VPSS Designee             | х | Alison Harmon - EHHD              | х | Royce Smith – COAA                |
| Х                                | Renee Reijo Pera – VPR                     | Х | Karlene Hoo – Graduate School     | Х | Ilse-Mari Lee – Honors College    |
|                                  | Other Members                              |   |                                   |   |                                   |
| Х                                | Tami Eitle – Interim Associate Provost     | х | Martin Teintze – WWAMI            | Х | Shelly McKamey - MOR              |
|                                  | Miley Gonzalez – Interim Associate Provost |   | David Singel – Associate Provost  |   | Kim Obbink – Academic Technology  |
| Х                                | Taylor Blossom- ASMSU                      |   |                                   |   |                                   |
| Other Participants in Attendance |  |   |                                   |   |                                   |
| Х                                | Myleen Leary- JJCBE                        | х | Pat Hatfield-ARS                  | х | Cody Stone-Extension Director     |
| Χ                                | Camie Bechtold- Athletics                  | Χ | Leon Costello- Athletics Director | Χ | George Haynes – Athletics- AgEcon |
| Χ                                | David Cherry- CLS                          | Χ | Nigel Waterton- EHHD              | Χ | Terry Leist- VP Finance           |
| X                                | Christy Sofianek- MSU LIFE Scholars        |   |                                   |   |                                   |

I. Call to order:

II. Approval of Minutes from March 20, 2018: Alison Harmon moved for approval, Charles Boyer, seconded, approved.

## III. Topics for Discussion:

- A. Master of Art in Teaching in Education: Alison Harmon and Nigel Waterton presented an overview: Charles Boyer moved for approval, Brett Gunnink, seconded; approved: Will be forwarded for the September BOR Meeting.
- B. Ranch Management Program Intent to Plan: Pat Hatfield presented an overview: Alison Harmon moved for approval, Nicol Rae, seconded, approved. Will be forwarded to BOR as an April IP monthly submission.
- C. Athletics Update: George Haynes, Camie Bechtold and Leon Costello (15 minutes + Q&A)
- D. LIFE Scholars: Alison Harmon and Christy Sofianek (15 minutes + Q&A)

## IV. Information:

A. Research update: Dean Nicol Rae, College of Letters and Science

## V. Announcements:

- A. Taylor Blossom has been elected ASMSU President! He discussed an overview of his first 100 days.
- VI. <u>Next Meeting: May 11, 2018:</u> (9:15-11:15 am, PCR)