Faculty

Name Profession Degree Contact
Laura Burkle Assistant Professor Ph.D. (biology, ecology and evolutionary biology), Dartmouth College, 2008. Community ecology; plant-animal interactions; pollination ecology; effects of natural and anthropogenic disturbances; conservation.  406-994-7223
laura.burkle@montana.edu
Scott Creel Professor Ph.D. (behavior, ecology and evolution), Purdue University, 1991. Behavioral endocrinology; conservation biology; population biology; social evolution; biology of carnivores. 406-994-7033
screel@montana.edu
Wyatt Cross Assistant Professor  Ph.D. (ecology) University of Georgia, 2004.Aquatic ecosystem ecology, food-web ecology, global change. 406-994-2473
wyatt.cross@montana.edu
Robert Garrott Professor Ph.D. (wildlife conservation) University of Minnesota, 1990. Ecology; population dynamics; management; and conservation of mammalian species.  406-994-2270
 rgarrott@montana.edu
Christopher Guy Affiliate Associate Professor  Ph.D. (fisheries science) South Dakota State University, 1993. Applied fisheries science; population ecology; predator-prey interactions; fisheries management.  406-994-3491
cguy@montana.edu
Andrew J. Hansen  Professor  Ph.D. (ecology) University of Tennessee, 1984. Landscape ecology and management; land use effects on biodiversity; sustaining greater park ecosystems; conservation biology. 406-994-6046
 hansen@montana.edu
Jia Hu Assistant Professor   Ph.D. (ecology and evolutionary biology) University of Colorado, 2009. Plant physiological ecology, quantifying climate change impacts, isotope biogeochemistry, ecohydrology. 406-994-2937
jia.hu02@montana.edu
Steven Kalinowski  Professor Ph.D. (biology) Arizona State University, 1999. Conservation genetics; evolutionary biology; wildlife and fisheries management. 406-994-3232
skalinowski@montana.edu
Billie L. Kerans  Professor Ph.D. (zoology) Ohio State University, 1989. Behavior; ecology and evolution of freshwater macro-invertebrates; assessing the impact of human disturbances on freshwater ecosystems.  406-994-3725
 bkerans@montana.edu
Andrea Litt Assistant Professor Ph.D. (wildlife and fisheries science, statistics minor) University of Arizona, 2007. Effects of human activities on wildlife including invasive species, disturbance, and land use; restoration ecology; quantitative ecology.  406-994-2332
andrea.litt@montana.edu
Thomas McMahon Professor Ph.D. (fisheries management - aquatic ecology) Arizona, 1984. Wild trout management; fish-habitat relationships; winter ecology; conservation biology of salmonids.   406-994-2492
tmcmahon@montana.edu
Ben Poulter Assistant Professor PhD (environmental science) Duke University, 2005. Terrestrial ecosystem modeling, vegetation dynamics, carbon cycle, disturbance, land cover and climate change impacts. 406-994-3231 benjamin.poulter@montana.edu
David W. Roberts  Department Head and Professor Ph.D. (plant ecology) U. of Wisconsin-Madison, 1984. Vegetation ecology, ecological modeling, multivariate analysis of ecological data. 406-994-4548
droberts@montana.edu
Jay J. Rotella Professor Ph.D. (wildlife ecology) University of Idaho, 1990. Ecology; population dynamics; habitat relationships; and management of vertebrate species.  406-994-5676
rotella@montana.edu
David W. Willey Research Assistant Professor Ph.D. (avian ecology) Northern Arizona University, 1998.  Ecology; population dynamics; habitat relationships; and management of avian species. 406-994-5319
willey@montana.edu
Alexander V. Zale Leader of the Montana Cooperative Fishery Research Unit and Affiliate Professor Ph.D. (fisheries science), University of Florida, 1984. Aquatic wild life management and ecology. 406-994-2380
zale@montana.edu