Montana State University

Department of Ecology

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173460
Bozeman, MT 59717-3460

Tel: (406) 994-4548
Fax: (406) 994-3190
Location: 310 Lewis Hall

Department Chair

Dr. David Roberts

ecology@montana.edu

Affiliate Faculty 2013-14

Al-Chokhachy, Robert. Research Fisheries Biologist, USGS; PhD (fisheries ecology, global clinate change effects on native and non-native fishes in the Rockies), Utah State University. ral-chokhachy@usgs.gov

Becker, Matthew. Programme Manager/CEO, Zambian Carnivore Programme; PhD (fish and wildlife biology), Montana State University. matt@zambiacarnivores.org

Beever, Erik. USGS-Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center; PhD (ecology, evolution, and conservation), University of Nevada. ebeever@usgs.gov

Belote, R. Travis. Senior Research Ecologist, The Wilderness Society; PhD (biological invasions, conservation, ecology), Virginia Tech. Travis_Belote@tws.org

Peter Brown. Montana Cooperative Fishery Reserch Unit; PhD (fish and wildlife biology), Montana State University. peterbrown406@gmail.com

Christianson, David. Assistant Professor, University of Arizona; PhD (large herbivore feeding ecology and predator-prey dynamics), Montana State University. dchristianson@email.arizona.edu

Cho-Ricketts, Leandra. ADministrative Director, Environmental Research Institute, University of Belize; PhD (marine sciences), University of the West Indies, Jamaica. lcricketts@ub.edu.bz

Cross, Paul C. USGS-Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center; PhD (environmental science, policy and management), University of California at Berkeley. pcross@usgs.gov

Gresswell, Robert. USGS-Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center; PhD (fisheries science), Oregon State University. bgresswell@usgs.gov

Gustafson, Daniel Research Scientist, PhD (biology, minor in statistics), Montana State University, 1991. Freshwater ecology; insect biology, ecology, and systematics; quantitative ecology; fisheries management. dlgustafson@gmail.com

Harmata, Alan. PhD (fish and wildlife biology), Montana State University. ubijt@montana.edu

Himes Boor, Gina. PhD (biological sciences), Montana State University. gkhimesboor@montana.edu

Hood, James. PhD (ecology, nutrient stoichiometry), University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. hoodx008umn.edu

Jaeger, Matthew. Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Glendive; MS (fishery management), Montana State University. matthew_jaeger@yahoo.com

Johnson, O. Wally. Research Scientist; PhD (zoology), Washington State University. owjohnson2105@aol.com

Kamath, Pauline. USGS-Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center; PhD (environmental science, policy and management), University of California at Berkley. paulinekamath@gmail.com

Keating, Kim. USGS-Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center; PhD (ecology), University of California at Davis. kkeating@usgs.gov

Kershner, Jeffrey. Director, USGS Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center, Bozeman; PhD (ecology), University of California at Davis. jkershner@usgs.gov.

Klimley, A. Peter.Director, Biotelemetry Laboratory, Univesity of California-Davis; PhD (marine biology), University of California-San Diego. apklimley@ucdavis.edu

Koel, Todd M. National Park Service, Center for Resources, Yellowstone National Park; PhD (zoology), North Dakota State University. todd_koel@nps.gov

Kruse, Carter G. Turner Enterprises/Endangered Species Fund; PhD (zoology and physiology, aquatics), University of Wyoming. carter.kruse@retranches.com

Latif, Quresh. USFS-Northern Rocky Mountain Research Station; PhD (evolution, ecology and organismal biology), University of California-Riverside. qlatif@fs.fed.us

McCaffery, Magnus. Senior Biologist, Turner Endangered Species Fund; PhD (fish and wildlife biology), University of Montana. magnus.mccaffery@retranches.com

Muhlfeld, Clint. Research Aquatic Ecologist, USGS, Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center, Glacier National Park; PhD (fish and wildlife biology), Montana State University. cmuhlfeld@usgs.gov

Nichols, James D. USGS, Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Maryland; PhD (animal population ecology, wildlife ecology and management, biometrics), Michigan State University.

Pilliod, David. USGS,Forest & Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center, Snake River Vield Station; PhD (ecology and conservation, amphibians, high elevations), University of California-Santa Cruz.

Powell, Scott. Corvallis Forestry Sciences Laboratory,U.S.D.A. Forest Service; PhD (landscape ecology, GIS analysis, carbon cycle), Montana State University. scott.powell@oregonstate.edu

Pugesek, Bruce. Voyageu Research; PhD (research biologist, statistician), Bowling Green State University.

Rasker, Ray. Director, Headwaters Economics; PhD (resource economics), Oregon State University. ray@headwaterseconomics.org

Saab, Victoria A. USFS-Rocky Mountain Research Station; PhD (environmental, population, and orgaismic biology), University of Colorado. vsaab@fs.fed.us

Selch, Trevor. Fisheries Biologist, Montana Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; PhD (fisheries), South Dakota State University. TSelch@mt.gov

Shepard, Bradley.Fish Ecology and Conservation Biologist; PhD (fish and wildlife biology, aquatic and population ecology), Montana State University. shepard.brad@gmail.com

Shovic, Henry. Soil Scientist/Geographer; PhD (soils genesis, classification and inventory, applied digital resource geography), University of Washington. hshovic@bridgeband.com

Taper, Mark. Consultant, Ecological and Evolutionary Quatitative Analysis; PhD, Univerisity of California-San Diego (population ecology, quantitative modeling, statistical methodologies), markltaper@gmail.com.

Tyers, Daniel B. Greater Yellowstone Ecoystem Grizzly Bear Management Coordinator, USDA Forest Service; PhD (fish and wildlife biology, population ecology), Montana State University. dtyers@fs.fed.us

Webb, Molly A. Bozeman Fish Technology Center; PhD (conservation biology), University of California, Davis. Molly_Webb@fws.gov

Welter, Jill. St. Catherine Univeritsy, MN; PhD (stream biochemistry), Arizona State University. jrwelter@skate.edu