This award is designed to honor individuals at Montana State University who have made significant contributions to academic advising. This award will closely follow the National Academic Advising Association’s core values and the criteria for their national outstanding advising award.

2019 - Congratulations to Melody Anacker and Cyndi Meldahl!

Learn more about Melody and Cyndi and all of the awardees

Click here to see all past recipients

The selection committee will evaluate nominees on the following criteria:

  • Strong interpersonal skills that include a caring, helpful attitude toward advisees, faculty, and/or staff.
  • Commitment to engage in developmental advising as compared to prescriptive advising. 
  • Skill in guiding and supporting the student’s journey and academic development.
  • Reliable and consistent availability to advisees.
  • Support for student progress towards graduation and career goals.
  • Demonstrated outreach and initiatives to support student success.

Eligibility. To be eligible, an individual must be either a current tenure track or non-tenure track faculty, or a professional advisor (one whose primary responsibility isto advise students), and have been employed at MSUBozeman for a minimum of three years. Not eligible are current members of the selection committee and previous winners of the award.

Click here for more information

Past Recipients

2019   Melody Anacker, assistant teaching professor in the Department of Health and Human Development, and Cyndi Meldahl, director of the Education Advising Center in the Department of Education.

See all of the 2019 awardees

2018    Lisa Musgrave, undergraduate advising coordinator in the Department of Cell Biology and Neuroscience, and Ross Snider, associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

See all of the 2018 awardees