FACULTY SENATE Sept 8, 2010 LEO JOHNSON 346 4:10 PM – 5:00 PM MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY-BOZEMAN, MONTANA Minutes

Members Present: Osborne, Gerlach, Engel, Eitle, Neumeier, Lawrence, Lockhart, Kaiser, Reidy, Biber, Anderson, Lansverk, Merzdorf for Eiger, Fisher, Rossmann, Caton, Martin, Zhu, McClure, Burg for Schachman, Larson, Jacobsen, Ricciardelli, Kaiser, Moreaux, Chen

Others Present: Waded Cruzado, Gail Schontzler

Chair Lansverk called the meeting to order at 4:10 PM. A quorum was present.

Announcements – Chair Lynch

• Outgoing Chair Lynch thanked all FS members for attending meetings and participating in shared governance. He then introduced the new Chair of FS, Marvin Lansverk.

New Business – President Cruzado and New Chair Lansverk

- New Governance Councils President Cruzado
 - The five new university councils (University Council, Deans' Council, Research Council, Planning Council, and Budget Council) are all in place, with missions and membership slots established. For this year, President Cruzado recommends that campuswide, the positions available through election be made by appointment this year, to facilitate getting started, and that going forward, each council then design an election process for elected positions in the future. As for the FS slots in a new council system like this, President Cruzado identified two philosophies. One would put the FS Chair into the FS slots on each council with FS slots (Planning, Budget, and Deans'), which has the advantage of providing the FS Chair, then, with a full 360 view of all the councils, also putting the FS Chair on more equal footing with the upper administration. The other philosophy is to spread these FS slots across the membership of FS, to increase participation of senators and to spread the workload.
- Summer Initiatives President Cruzado
 - As everyone is aware, the provost search is well underway. Chair Lansverk and Sandy Osborne are serving on the search advisory committee. Finalists have been recommended to President Cruzado. Additionally, the search process for a new CEO in Billings is under way, as well as a search for a new president of UM. Great Falls has an interim Dean/CEO and President Cruzado will be meeting with faculty/staff to decide the next steps.
- Funding Issues Discussions with Legislature President Cruzado
 - Commissioner Stearns' philosophy about funding encompasses the representation and inclusion of the MUS as a whole. President Cruzado would like to help legislators understand what MSU does by forging long-term relationships and inviting them to come to campus events, to observe what the students are accomplishing, and host tours of our learning facilities.
- Performance Based Funding President Cruzado
 - President Cruzado will meet with all four campus leaders to discuss, among many topics, distinct qualities each campus has and how they might fit into the PBF model under discussion by the BOR.
 - Knowing what the BoR wants and how they envision Montana in the future are the fundamental issues that will guide PBF.
- Faculty Senate Committees
 - Ballots were distributed to FS to elect new members to open Steering Committee poisitons, and Nominating Committee. Martin Lawrence, Steve Cherry and Tami Eitle were elected to FS Steering Committee; Warren Jones was elected to chair the Nominating Committee.
- Memberships on New University Councils
 - Following up on President Cruzado's remarks, we discussed what philosophy to follow in filling the FS slots on the three Councils that have them (University Council already

designates the Chair of FS as a member; Research Council has no FS slot). Chair Lansverk endorsed the philosophy of having the FS Chair serve on all the councils to maximize his potential impact. After a lively discussion of options, it was decided simply to hold elections for the three FS council positions, for these one year terms. After soliciting nominations, and holding an immediate election, the results were as follows:

- Marvin Lansverk was elected to the Dean's Council
- John Neumeier was elected to the Planning Council
- Doralyn Rossmann was elected to the Budget Council.

The Faculty Senate meeting ended at 5:00 PM, as there was no further business.

Signature

Marvin Lansverk, Chair

Signature

Gale R. Gough, Secretary