FACULTY SENATE September 14, 2011 LEO JOHNSON 346 4:10 PM – 5:00 PM MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY-BOZEMAN, MONTANA Minutes

Members Present: Biber (Music), Burrows (PSPP - Extension), Cantalupo (Ext), Caton (Business), Chen (Research Ctrs), Dougher (PSPP), Engel (LRES), Franklin (Microbiology), Gerlach (ChBE), Greenwood (Math), Hendrikx (Earth Sciences), Herbeck (Ed), Hostetler (Gallatin College), Kaiser (EE), Lansverk (English), Lawrence (Biochem), Letiecq (HHD), Martin (Mod Lang), Merzdorf (CB&N) for Eiger, Neumeier (Physics), Newhouse (Art), O'Neill (Architecture), Olson (ARS), Reidy (Hist & Phil), Ricciardelli (Film & Photo), Rossmann (Libraries), Sarchet (Ext), Schachman (Nursing), Zhu (CS)

Others Present: Joey Steffens, Jennifer Haubenreiser, Kevin Thane, Doug Fulp, Hugo Schmidt (ARF)

Chair Lansverk called the meeting to order at 4:10 PM. A quorum was present.

Announcements – Chair Lansverk

- The Climate Action Plan committee is calling for comments, which are due Friday, September 16, 2011.
- Chair Lansverk and Chair-elect Neumeier will attend the BoR meeting in Billings next week and the agenda may be viewed online. The staff compensation component is also posted as a link inside the agenda.
- Virginia Valian, author of "*Why So Slow?*" will be on campus Friday. She will be visiting in conjunction with the unveiling of the President's Commission on the Status of Women.
- The new student regent is Joe Thiel.
- Chair Lansverk requested a Faculty Senate volunteer for the Pure Gold program, which provides an opportunity to recognize Montana State University faculty, staff, students, alumni, and friends for their contributions to the university community. The program invites members of the MSU community to nominate deserving individuals to receive public recognition for their outstanding efforts on behalf of MSU. The nominees will have shown an ability to inspire others, enhance the strengths of the university and embrace the Bobcat spirit. Whether it's an individual act or a sustained effort of exemplary service.

Election of FS member for representation on University Research Council

Martin Lawrence, Chemistry/Biochemistry, was unanimously voted to represent FS on the Research Council. Dr. Lawrence is also a member of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

Tobacco Free Proposed Policy Discussion

The Tobacco Free proposal has been tabled until early October or until FS provides guidance to its rep on University Council, Chair Lansverk, on how to vote. Recent discussions about the Tobacco Free proposal have focused on how to accommodate committed smokers. Jennifer Haubenreiser noted that data taken from the student health perspective that advocates for a tobacco free campus, indicates dramatic reduction of use and changing of attitudes towards tobacco use. She also stated that information from U of M (they already have a policy in place) shows students complying with the policy have reported improved health benefits. The MSU policy does not advocate "smoker vs. nonsmokers"; rather, it is geared towards a cleaner environment and to help students quit who have started and to discourage students from smoking who have not started. Ms. Haubenreiser responded to the committed smoker queries about smoking perimeters (e.g., smoking on public places that happen to be included within campus perimeters) by saying that the enforcement/compliance strategy had not yet been worked out. Current policies that have been studied, nationally, do not accommodate shelters for smokers. However, a number of task forces at MSU are examining what has worked on other campuses and how to best accommodate the specific idiosyncrasies on the Bozeman campus. Implementation of this policy would require educating everyone and would, most likely, by implemented over time. FS noted that the policy does not have verbiage that would negate sponsorship of tobacco products. Chair Lansverk will send out a short three-question survey to all FS members.

The Faculty Senate meeting ended at 5:00 pm, as there was no further business.

Signature Marvin Lansverk, Chair

Signature Gale R. Gough, Secretary