FACULTY SENATE AUGUST 28, 2013 346 LEON JOHNSON 4:10 PM - 5:00 PM

MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY-BOZEMAN, MONTANA

Minutes

Members Present: Babbitt (Physics), Bennett (English), Bolte (Music), Bonnand (Library), Branch (English), Brown (Chem & Bio Eng), Burrows (Ext), Christopher (HHD); Codd (MIE), Dougher (PSPP), Durham (COB), Franklin (Micro), Gannon (Chem & Bio Eng), Greenwood (Math), Hendrikx (Earth Sciences), Herbeck (Ed), Herman (NAS), Hostetler (GCP), Kaiser (ECE), Kohler (Chem & Biochem), Larson (M&IE), Lynch (Psych), McMahon (Ecology), Miller (CE), Moreaux (ARS), Newhouse (Art), O'Neill (Arch), Reidy (Hist & Phil), Ricciardelli (Film & Photo), Rossmann (Library), Schloss (GCP), Swinford (Soc/Anthro), Schachman (Nursing), Waller (Hist & Phil), Wiedenheft (IMID), Wilmer (Poli Sci), Zabinski (LRES)

Others Present: Robert Mokwa, Waded Cruzado, Martha Potvin, Jeff Krauss, Terry Leist, Ron Larsen, Helen Melland, Lynda Ransdell, Paul Gore, Nancy Cornwell, Wendy Stock, Kregg Aytes, Matt Caires, Leila Sterman, Isle-Mari Lee, Chris Fastnow, Josh DeWeese, Lindsey Murdoch, Lucas Smith, John Neumeier, Tracy Ellig

Chair Mokwa called the meeting to order at 4:10 pm, and a quorum was present. A moment of silence in memory of Warren Jones and Robert Oakberg was declared by Chair Mokwa. The garel was passed between past chair, John Neumeier, and present chair, Robert Mokwa.

Welcome and Introductions

- President Waded Cruzado
 - The president thanked faculty for their contribution to MSU.
 - There are a record number of students enrolled at MSU this AY.
 - A record number of TT faculty lines have been filled, and the president asked faculty to help mentor the newly hired faculty.
 - After attending a state-wide meeting at the Institute of Ecosystems, President Cruzado reported that MSU will have many opportunities to participate in this research program.
 - With regards to research activities, administration is aware that resources and stimulus affected F&A.
 - The president reminded senate that this is the year of Engaged Leadership. It is a time which highlights events and activities of the university that help develop the leadership skills of students, faculty, staff and community members. The Year will run from Aug. 2013 to May 2014.
 - President Cruzado will hold a town meeting on September 11, 2013, 9:00 am 3:30 pm.
 - President Cruzado invited all senators to the second annual night game.
 - Yann Martel, author of the award-winning "Life of Pi," which was made into a highly acclaimed motion picture, will speak at Montana State University's 2013 Freshman Convocation on Sept. 5, and kick off the university's Year of Engaged Leadership. Fall commencement will be on December 14, 2013.
- Regent Jeff Krauss:
 - Is dedicated to learning all the intricacies about the university and relies on the senate to educate him in areas which he may not be familiar. He believes higher education is transformative and supports all faculty endeavors.
 - Is concerned about the financial challenges facing our office of research.
 - Is concerned about student debt and the cost of higher education.
 - Is pursuing the performance based funding model and insisting that research be a component.
 - Invites conversation via ikrauss@montana.edu or by calling ext.5275.
- Lindsey Murdoch, President of ASMSU and Lucas Smith, Vice-president of ASMSU, introduced themselves.

Announcements

- At the next FS meeting on Sept 4, Dr. Anne Camper, Interim VP of Research, will update senators on activities of her office.
- A FS meeting will follow the September 4th town meeting. Athletics, in conjunction with NCAA, will report on the previous year's
- An online Faculty Senate forum, to be posted on the FS website, is being developed.
- Chair Mokwa is a member of the state's task force for addressing the cost of higher education.
- Chair Mokwa and Chair-elect Reidy will be attending the September 18, 19 BoR.

Introduction of the Deans

- Provost Potvin welcomed senators and reported that investments in research programs have resulted in support for a dozen GTA
- Through the "Year of Engaged Leadership" program, Provost Potvin will be offering a faculty lecture series. Chair-elect Reidy has been working with the provost to develop an evening series whereby six faculty would lecture on their trajectory of success.
- Deans present were Kregg Aytes, Dean of the Jake Jabs College of Business; Matt Caires, Dean of Students; Ilse-Mari Lee, Dean of the Honors College; Helen Melland, College of Nursing; Lynda Ransdell, Dean of EHHD; Nicol Rae, Dean of CLS; Ron Larsen, Interim Dean of the Graduate School; Nancy Cornwell, Dean of Arts & Architecture.
- Paul Gore, a guest being mentored by President Cruzado and Provost Potvin, will be attending MSU for the academic year on an American Council on Education Leadership Fellowship. Dr. Gore's home institution is the University of Utah where he is an Associate Professor of Educational Psychology and the Director of Institutional Research. Chair Mokwa welcomed Dr. Gore and invited him to attend senate meetings.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:03 pm.

Signature. Robert Mokwa, Chair

Signature

Michael Reidy, Chair-elect

Minutes were transcribed by Gale R. Gough, Administrative Associate, Faculty Senate.