History Faculty

Susan Cohen

Susan Cohen

Syro-Palestinian archaeology; histories of religious traditions; history and cartography of ancient Near Eastern archaeology

Phone: 406-994-4397
Office: Wilson 2-155
Email: scohen@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: MW 2-3

Catherine Dunlop

Catherine Dunlop

Modern Europe; Cartography; Politics of Space; Borderlands

Phone: 406-994-5213
Office: Wilson 2-168
Email: catherine.dunlop@montana.edu

Faculty Page

On Sabbatical for 2017-2018

Mark Fiege

Mark Fiege

American West; Environment; National Parks and protected areas; United States

Phone: 406-994-5204
Office: Wilson 2-163
Email: mark.fiege@montana.edu

Faculty Page


Office Hours: M 12-1 and by appointment

Maggie Greene

Maggie Greene

Modern Chinese history; Japanese history; modern Chinese literature and cultural studies; pre-modern Chinese history
Phone: 406-994-5203
Office: Wilson 2-162
Email: margaret.greene1@montana.edu

Faculty Page

Office Hours: M 1-2, 3-4 & F 1-2
Amanda Hendrix-Komoto

Amanda Hendrix- Komoto

American West; religion; comparative colonialism and women's studies

Phone: 406-994-5126
Office: Wilson 2-164
Email: amanda.hendrixkomoto@montana.edu

Faculty Page

Office Hours: MWF 1:30-2:30

Robin Hardy

Robin Hardy

Modern Europe; colonial and post-colonial Africa; diplomacy
Phone: 406-994-5578
Office: Linfield 401
Email: robin.hardy@montana.edu

Faculty Page

Office Hours: TR 8:45-10:45

Tim LeCain

Timothy LeCain

Environmental History; History of Technology; American History
Phone: 406-994-7585
Office: Wilson 2-161
Email: tlecain@montana.edu

Faculty Page

Office Hours: T 3-4, W 2-3 & R 9:30-11:30
Dale Martin

Dale Martin

Montana and the West; Railroads; America in World War I
Phone: 406-994-7585
Office: Wilson 2-161
Email: dlmartin@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Not Teaching Fall 2017
Mike McManus

Michael McManus

The American Civil War era; slavery and race in American history from 1790-1880
Phone: 406-994-5578
Office: Linfield 401
Email: mcube1820@gmail.com

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: W 2:30-4
Jim Meyer

Jim Meyer

Turkey; Ottoman Empire; Eurasian Studies; Russia
Phone: 406-994-6798
Office: 2-102
Email: james.meyer7@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: TR 11-1

Mary Murphy

Mary Murphy

History of food in America; Gender in the American West
Phone: 406-994-5206
Office: Wilson 2-165
Email: mmurphy@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: MW 12-1
Janet Ore

Janet Ore

American vernacular architectural history; U.S. Environmental history; 20th century U.S. history; Historic Preservation and landscape history
Phone: 406-994-5208
Office: Wilson 2-104
Email: janet.ore@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: M 1-2 & W 11-12
Michael Reidy

Michael Reidy

History of science and technology; history of mountaineering
Phone: 406-994-5252
Office: Wilson 2-170
Email: mreidy@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: W 2-4
Robert Rydell

Robert Rydell

U.S. intellectual and cultural history; museum studies; World's Fairs
Phone: 406-994-7929
Office: Wilson 2-101
Email: rwrydell@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: W 2-3
Billy Smith

Billy Smith

Early America; race, class, and slavery; disease; mapping early America
Phone: 406-994-5207
Office: Wilson 2-166
Email: bgs@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: On Sabbatical 2017-2018
Brad Snow

Bradley Snow

Environmental history; history of the U.S. West; 20th and early 21st century U.S. history
Phone: 406-994-6798
Office:
Email: bdsnow65@gmail.com

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: TR 5-6


Molly Todd

Molly Todd

Latin American history; violence and human rights; displacement and migration; social movements
Phone: 406-994-5200
Office: Wilson 2-159
Email: molly.todd@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: T 9:30-10:30
Brett Walker

Brett Walker

Environmental history; Japanese history; history of science and medicine
Phone: 406-994-5201
Office: Wilson 2-160
Email: brett.laurence.walker@gmail.com

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: T 10-12

Philosophy Faculty

Prasanta

Prasanta Bandyopadhyay

Philosophy of science; epistemology; Indian philosophy

Phone: 406-994-5212
Office: Wilson 2-148
Email: psb@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: MWF 10-10:50

Don Demetriades

Don Demetriades

Greek philosophy; existentialism

Phone: 406-994-5210
Office: Wilson 2-149
Email: siouxshe8@gmail.com

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: M 1:15-2:15; R 1:30-2:30

Don Flory

Dan Flory

Aesthetics; philosophy and film; critical race theory

Phone: 406-994-5209
Office: Wilson 2-106
Email: dflory@montana.edu

Faculty page 

Office Hours: MWF 11-12

Kristen Intemann

Kristen Intemann

Research ethics; values and science; feminist philosophy of science
Phone: 406-994-5787
Office: Wilson 2-152
Email: kristen.intemann@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: TR 1:30-3

Jeff Stephenson

Jeffrey Stephenson

Character and cognitive science; virtue theory and ancient philosophy; ethical issues in biotechnology
Phone: 406-994-7585
Office: Wilson 2-161
Email: jeffrey.stephenson@ecat.montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: T 3-4:15
Sara Waller

Sara Waller


Philosophy of mind and animal minds; philosophy of cognitive science
Phone: 406-994-5216
Office: Wilson 2-107
Email: sara.waller@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

On Sabbatical Fall 2017

Religious Studies Faculty

Susan Cohen

Susan Cohen

Syro-Palestinian archaeology; histories of religious traditions; history and cartography of ancient Near Eastern archaeology

Phone: 406-994-4397
Office: Wilson 2-155
Email: scohen@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: MW 2-3

Holly Grether

Holly Grether

Buddhism; Hinduism; rituals

Phone: 406-994-5578
Office: Linfield 401
Email: hgrether@montana.edu

Faculty Page 

Office Hours: TR 11-12



Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Jim Allard

Jim Allard

19th century philosophy; continental philosophy
Gordon Brittan

Gordon Brittan

Wind energy
Sanford Levy

Sanford Levy

Ethics
Michelle Maskiell

Michelle Maskiell

Gender in Modern South Asia, Textiles
Pierce Mullen

Pierce Mullen

 
 
Pierce Mullen

Jeffrey Safford

 
 
Lynda Sexson

Lynda Sexson

Text and image; nature; gender; myth and metaphor