Montana State University

College of Letters and Science

Montana State University
P.O. Box 172360
Bozeman, MT 59717-2360

Tel: (406) 994-4288
Fax: (406) 994-7580
Location: 2-205 Wilson Hall


Nicol C. Rae

Make a Gift to the College of Letters and Science
Facebook icon Twitter icon

L&S Advisory Board

Established in 2005, the Letters & Science Advisory Board is the college's outside advisory group that serves as a "cabinet" for the academic deans. The council is comprised of leaders from the business, civic and academic communities who bring special qualities, expertise and interests applicable to the college's initiatives in areas such as undergraduate education, strategic planning, financial management and development priorities. Current L&S Advisory Board members are listed below.

Marshall Gingery

Marshall Gingery received two B.S. degrees, one in earth science and the other in geography, from MSU in 1962 and 1963. He enjoyed a successful 31-year career with the Department of the Interior, holding various management positions with the Department of the Interior and the National Park Service across the country. He served in several senior management positions in Washington, D.C., as a Regional Director with the Department of the Interior and his final tenure of ten years was as the Assistant Superintendent, Science, Resource Management, and Planning of Grand Teton National Park in Wyoming, from which he retired in 1994. 

Bob Hawks

Bob Hawks graduated from Pacific University with a Doctor of Optometry in 1966. Currently, he is a state senator from Bozeman in the Montana State Legislature, elected for his first term in November 2004. Among other responsibilities, he serves on the Senate Education and Cultural Resources Committee. From 1988 to 1992, Hawks served on the Bozeman City Commission and was mayor for the final two years of his term.

Susan Heyneman

Susan Heyneman grew up on a ranch in northwestern Wyoming, attended Vassar College for three years, graduated from Barnard College in New York City in 1961, and did graduate work at the University of Colorado. She has served on the boards of the Montana Committee for the Humanities and the Yellowstone Art Museum, and currently serves on the Montana Land Reliance and the Sonoran Institute boards. She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the College of Letters and Science at Montana State University in 1996. Susan's family has ranched in Fishtail, Montana for 40 years.

Jane Klockman

Jane Klockman is retired from a long career as a public relations executive, with special expertise in community relations. She is a member of the Board of Directors for the Friends of the Story Mansion, a advocacy group dedicated to preserving Bozeman's historic landmark as a thriving educational, cultural and social center. Jane is also active in the Bozeman Historic Preservation Advisory Board, and is a founder of the South Central Association of Neighbors.

Stephen Luckey

Steve Luckey enjoyed a successful 33-year commercial flying career as an International 747-400 captain with Northwest Airlines. He is a 1962 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and has completed graduate studies in political science and media technology. His military aviation career included duty as a U.S. Marine pilot, flying the A4 Skyhawk and several other high performance fighter-type jet aircrafts. He currently resides in Kalispell, Montana, and chairs the National Security Committee for the Airline Pilots Association.

Alan Nicholson

Alan Nicholson received his undergraduate degree at MSU and attended graduate school at Northwestern University. He taught for several years and worked for the Office of Public Instruction in Helena, before getting into property management and real estate development in the 1970s. His current project is the Great Northern Town Center which is a mixed use, high-density development in the former Great Northern station in Helena. He is the former chair of the Montana Board of Public Education, past president of the Helena Chamber of Commerce, and past president of the Montana Ambassadors.