Named & Endowed Professorships

L&S Distinguished Professors

L&S Distinguished Professors are selected in recognition of their contributions to the college, to MSU and to the scholarly community at large.

Completed nominations for 2016 should be emailed to:
5 PM on Friday, September 2, 2016

The following L&S faculty members have been honored as L&S Distinguished Professors:

Ferguson Professor of Microbiology

Michael Franklin

Malone Professor of History

Robert Rydell

An endowed professorship is one of the highest honors a faculty member can receive, and one of the most important gifts a donor can make to the college.

An endowed professorship recognizes outstanding faculty members who contribute to the university through their research, teaching, and professional achievements. It also serves as a living memorial to the donor’s belief in intellectual values and social responsibility. The donor, the person in whose honor the chair is named, each successive holder, and the university all share in the prestige that surrounds each endowment. The endowed professorships and directorships listed below are currently held by members of the faculty of the College of Letters & Science at Montana State University.