Montana LTAP 2019 MACRS Fall District Meetings

Workshop Description:

Participants will learn Hazardous Communications Basics and Winter Maintenance/Survival at the 2019 MACRS Fall District Meetings.   

Who Should Attend:

Anyone who is involved with city or county roads, snowplow drivers, public works employees and public works directors, or anyone who is interested in winter road maintenance,  work zone safety and HAZComm.    


Shawna began her long career as an instructor over 25 years ago. As a certified Emergency Medical Technician, she knew that bringing this life-saving knowledge to others in her very rural area of Montana would save lives. All of Shawna’s certifications are nationally recognized except for Flagging Certification which is a state-to-state process. She also teaches classes on asbestos awareness, blood-borne pathogens, hazardous waste, CPR, and OSHA 10 and 30, and MSHA Mine Safety.   She brings her vast knowledge of safety training and experience to the LTAP program as the Field Training Professional.  


MT LTAP director Matt Ulberg at 1-800-541-6671 or

Classroom Locations 

October 7, 2019    Missoula La Quinta Inn 5059 N. Reserve St.
October 8, 2019  Fort Benton Fire Hall
October 9, 2019   Bozeman Transportation & Systems Engineering Bldg., 3rd floor classroom
2327 University Way
October 22, 2019 Billings Hampton Inn, 5100 Southgate Drive
October 23, 2019 Miles City

Sleep Inn and Suites. 1006 S. Haynes Ave.

October 24, 2019 Wolf Point Sherman Inn, 200 E. Main St.

Registration Information: 

Preregistration is required;

The cost is $50 per person and includes one lunch and classroom materials.

Online registration available;

For questions or information;

Call Matt Ulberg 1-800-541-6671 or 


MACRS Conference

The 2019 MACRS Spring Conference was held April 1 though April 4, 2019, at the Best Western Heritage Inn, Great Falls, Montana.  

Montana Association of County Road Supervisors (MACRS)

The MACRS organization was started in 1979 with John Bilbro of Rosebud County as the first President. The MACRS Conference and Seminar was held annually in different locations throughout Montana but has grown so large, the conference facilities in Great Falls has been used for the last eight years. The program covers a variety of topics dealing with ways to solve problems encountered in on-the-job situations and provides an opportunity to find out how other counties and communities cope. Anyone involved with the management of roads, streets and bridges will benefit from the knowledge shared at the MACRS conference. City, town, county, state and tribal personnel are welcome!

          MACRS Scholarship - Fall Semester Deadline - August 15th; and Spring Semester Deadline -December 15th.

Message from 2018-2019 MACRS President Clay Moore:

It is an honor and a privilege to serve as this year’s MACRS President. The Board Members and LTAP have gathered and reviewed your suggestions for this year’s conference. These dedicated individuals have put together a great variety of training topics from Bridge Replacement Strategies, Road Standards and Asphalt Maintenance to updates on the new Gas Tax Funding and FEMA Public Assistance Program.

Through MACRS and our partnership with Montana LTAP, training topics and workshops have been provided based on your requests. Coordination of our spring conference through Montana LTAP has been effective in providing the best conference possible for not only county road employees, but for our county commissioners--over 40 county commissioners attended the 2018 spring conference. As we meet many challenges that we face each year, those who keep informed through training and sharing information with their county neighbors are able to meet the demand of the public to keep our county roads safe.

2018-2019 Officers

District Representatives

MACo Representatives

Training Committee Representative

Past President

MACRS Bylaws: Click here for Montana Association of County Road Supervisors Bylaws

MACRS Mission Statement: Click here for MACRS Mission Statement

Past Presidents of the organization are: '79,'80,'81-John Bilbro, Rosebud; '82-Gene Dreidlein, Meagher; '83-Vince Kerouac, Cascade; '84-Charlie Phillips, Flathead; '85-Jim Ellis, Lewis & Clark; '86-Marvin Kleinjan, Hill; '87-Bob Jacks, Missoula; '88-Bob Youngberg, Park; '89-Ken Jorgensen, Cascade; '90-Ed Beck, Sheridan; '91- Don Gallus, Blaine; '92-Sam Gianfrancisco, Gallatin; '93-Dale Rath, Fallon; '94-Sanford Haugsdal, Musselshell; '95 -Rick Seiler, Valley; '96-Don Bohne, Missoula; '97-Russ Huotari, Richland; '98 Jerry Otto, Hill, '99 Joe Foran, Dawson/Richard Miller, Beaverhead, 2000 John Ostlund, Yellowstone; 2001 Larry Juell, Sweet Grass; 2002 Eric Griffin, Lewis & Clark ; 2003 Jack Knorr, Stillwater County; 2004 Tom Romo, Roosevelt County; 2005 Russ Albers, Chouteau County; 2006 Tim White, Lincoln County, District #3; 2007 Jim McCarthy, Butte-Silver Bow; 2008 Wayne Waarvik, Valley County; 2009 Shawn Norick, Liberty County; 2010 Wayne Buck, Rosebud County; 2011 Mitch Urdahl, Gallatin County, 2012 Tom Fairbank, Blaine County, 2013 Jerry Backlund, Custer County, 2014 Ovila Byrd, Flathead County, 2015 John Stokes, Pondera County; 2016 John Anderson, Fergus County; 2017 Doug Nisbet, Lewis & Clark County

Conference Meeting Locations: Havre, '83, Helena '84, Billings '85, Bozeman '86, Great Falls, '87, Livingston '88, Lewistown '89, Kalispell '90, Glasgow '91, Bozeman '92, Missoula '93, Helena '94, Polson '95, Billings '96, Lewistown '97, Great Falls '98, Kalispell '99, Havre 2000, Missoula 2001, Billings 2002, Fairmont Hot Springs 2003 , Bozeman 2004, Billings 2005, Great Falls 2006, Kalispell 2007, Helena 2008, Great Falls 2009, Great Falls 2010, Great Falls 2011, Great Falls 2012, Great Falls 2013, Great Falls 2014, Great Falls 2015, Great Falls 2016, Great Falls 2017, Great Falls 2018

Conference Host

Dues of $150 entitle the county to annual membership in MACRS and participation in the annual state Conference/Seminar for one county representative. The cost for additional participants from each county is $100 and they may register now or in person at the conference. Vendors dues are $400 annually for one representative and $100 for each additional representative. There is a nominal charge for additional tables at each conference. All monies are used for the MACRS organization. Membership Applications/Renewals and dues are collected annually by Montana LTAP on behalf of MACRS. Dues and bookkeeping records will be transferred to MACRS Secretary/Treasurer after they are collected.

The MACRS Planning Meeting will be held at the Best Western Heritage Inn, Great Falls, on November 2017, hosted by MACRS. Minutes and agenda items will be available after the meeting.

Associate Membership For Vendors: By paying the initial Annual Associate MACRS Membership fee of $450, vendors have the opportunity to become an Associate MACRS Member for the additional $50. Their employees can also become MACRS Associate Members by paying $150 per employee. The additional $50 in each case provides vendor representation on MACRS Board, emails of all MACRS training notices, LTAP newsletters, and any electronic correspondence sent to MACRS members. See Vendor Registration Form to check appropriate box to become an Associate MACRS Member now!