Montana State University

MSU College of Letters and Science announces 12 faculty leadership fellows

July 12, 2013

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

The Montana State University College of Letters and Science has selected 12 faculty members to serve as Fellows in Engagement to celebrate the upcoming MSU Year of Engaged Leadership.

The college established the one-time, one-year program to recognize faculty members whose work includes a strong component of engagement with the communities served by MSU, according to Nicol Rae, dean of the MSU College of Letters and Science.

The Fellows in Engagement will participate in two panels, one in September and one in April, on the opportunities and challenges of engagement. Each fellow will also give a campus-wide talk about one or more engagement efforts arising out of his or her role at MSU.

Each Fellow in Engagement receives a stipend to support their research and/or engagement activities in AY 2013-14 along with the title of College of Letters and Science Fellow in Engagement for AY 2013-14.

The MSU Fellows in Engagement in the College of Letters of Science are: Brian Bothner, associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry;  Kirk Branch, associate professor, Department of English; Elizabeth Burroughs, associate professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences;  Angela Des Jardins, director of the Montana Space Grant Consortium and director of Montana NASA EPSCoR;  Bridget Kevane, professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures;  Hau Li, assistant professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures;  Charles McLaughlin, teaching professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry;  David Parker, associate professor, Department of Political Science;  Jan Strout, instructor, College of Letters and Science;  Franke Wilmer, professor, Department of Political Science; Tomomi Yamaguchi, assistant professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology; and Nico Yunes, assistant professor, Department of Physics.

To learn more about each fellow,  visit:


Jody Sanford (406) 994-7791,