Montana State University

MSU names committee to search for Vice President for Student Success

December 4, 2013

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

 Montana State University is set to begin its search for a new Vice President for  Student Success.

A 15-member committee has been formed to conduct the national search. Terry Leist, MSU's Vice President for Administration and Finance, is the search committee’s chair.

"Montana State University places student success as one of the university's top priorities," Leist said. "Our Vice President for Student Success will play a pivotal role in directing the many units dedicated to supporting our students in every area of their collegiate experience."

Members of the search committee are listed below by name and title:

Terry Leist, Vice President for Administration and Finance

Matt Caires, MSU Dean of Students

John Cech, Deputy Commissioner for Two-Year and Community Education, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

Tracy Ellig, Executive Director of MSU University Communications

Peter Fields, Director of MSU Bobcat Athletics

Walter Fleming, Department Head of MSU's Department of Native American Studies

Ada Giusti, Professor in the MSU Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

Bob Hietala, Dean of Gallatin College, MSU

Diane Letendre, Director of MSU Office of Institutional Equity

Jim Mitchell, Director of MSU Student Health Service

Robert Mokwa, Chair of MSU Faculty Senate and professor of civil engineering

Lindsay Murdock, President of the Associated Students of Montana State University

Brandi Payne, Director of the MSU Office of Financial Aid

David Singel, MSU Associate Provost

Nora Smith, Assistant Dean in the MSU College of Agriculture

Heidi Gagnon, Assistant to MSU's Vice President for Administration and Finance, will serve as administrative support.

The Division of Student Success is comprised of a number of offices, people, and programs working together to foster a holistic collegiate experience at MSU and encompasses every facet of the student experience. Each unit in the division supports students in their academic goals and personal journeys while they work to become graduates of MSU.

Jim Rimpau retired as MSU's Vice President for Student Success earlier this year. Robert Marley, former dean of the College of Engineering, currently is serving as the interim Vice President of Student Success.                              


Terry Leist (406) 994-4361,