Montana State University

MSU announces third annual Provost’s Distinguished Lecturer Series

September 16, 2015 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Six Montana State University faculty members will deliver lectures throughout the academic year as part of the university’s third annual Provost’s Distinguished Lecturer Series.

The series, which is free and open to the public, recognizes outstanding MSU faculty for their scholarship and leadership. Faculty presenting during the series will reflect on the inspirations for their work in lectures suited for professionals and lay people alike.

All lectures will be held at 7 p.m. in the Museum of the Rockies’ Hager Auditorium and will be followed by a reception at 8 p.m.

Lectures in the series are listed below by date and the lecturer’s name and department, college or center.

Tuesday, Oct. 13: Tomas Gedeon, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Tuesday, Nov. 10: Susan Kollin, Department of English

Tuesday, Jan. 19: Peter Buerhaus, College of Nursing

Tuesday, Feb. 16: Mark Jutila, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Tuesday, March 8: Phil Stewart, Center for Biofilm Engineering

Tuesday, April 12: Catherine Zabinski, Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

For more information, contact the MSU Office of the Provost at (406) 994-4373 or

Contact: Martha Potvin, MSU provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, (406) 994-4373 or