Montana State University

Local clerk of district court receives certification

October 9, 2008

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Thirty-four clerks of district courts from throughout Montana received professional certification through a program conducted by the Montana Association of Clerks of District Court and the Montana State University Local Government Center.

"The course work required for professional certification includes the principles of court management, personnel management, the legal requirements and procedures of the clerk of court's office and effective communication skills," said Dan Clark, director of the MSU Local Government Center. "In undertaking this rigorous course of professional study, those who attended demonstrated both competence as a clerk of district court and commitment to serving the people of his or her county."

Clark said that in order to be certified, a clerk must attend 40 hours of education in four years, attend three out of four annual professional association conventions, and attend at least one district meeting each year.

Clerks who received certification are listed below by Montana hometown.

Beaverhead County
Sheila Brunkhorst

Big Horn County
Karen Yarlott-Molina

Blaine County
Kay Johnson

Broadwater County
Valerie H. Middlemas

Butte-Silver Bow County
Lori Maloney

Daniels County
Patricia McDonnell

Fallon County
Jeraldine A. Jerrie Newell

Fergus County
Phyllis D. Smith

Flathead County
Peg L. Allison

Gallatin County
Jennifer Brandon

Granite County
Bev L. Kulaski

Hill County
Dena Tippets

Jefferson County
Marilyn A. Craft

Judith Basin County
Julie T. Peevey

Liberty County
Anne Seidlitz-Melton

Madison County
Bundy K. Bailey

McCone County
Trudy Kirkegard

Meagher County
Donna Morris

Missoula County
Shirley E. Faust

Musselshell County
Connie Mattfield

Park County
June Little

Petroleum County
Mary Brindley

Phillips County
Iris Robinson

Pondera County
Kara Thompson

Ravalli County
Debbie Harmon

Richland County
Arelene C. Riggs

Roosevelt County
Patricia A. Stennes

Sweetgrass County
Deanna Novotny

Teton County
Lisa J. Sinton

Toole County
Sandra Peers

Treasure County
Ruth L. Baker

Valley County
Melissa G. Greenhagen

Wheatland County
Janet Hill

Yellowstone County
Laura Brent

Contact: Molly Anderson, (406) 994-6694,