Montana State University

Montana Clerks of District Court attend certification school

November 10, 2009

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Sixty-five clerks and deputy clerks of district courts throughout Montana attended a certification school in Billings conducted by the Montana Association of Clerks of District Court and the Montana State University Local Government Center.

"The course work required for professional certification includes the principles of court management, personnel management, the legal requirements and procedures of the clerk of court's office and effective communication skills," said Dan Clark, director of the MSU Local Government Center. "In undertaking this rigorous course of professional study, those who attended demonstrated both competence as a clerk of district court and commitment to serving the people of his or her county."

Clark said that in order to be certified, a clerk must attend 40 hours of education in four years, attend three of four annual professional association conventions, and attend at least one district meeting each year.
Clerks who attended the three-day certification school are listed below by Montana counties.

Anaconda-Deer Lodge
Susie Krueger, Clerk

Beaverhead County
Sheila Brunkhorst, Clerk
Carly Anderson, Deputy Clerk

Big Horn County
Karen Yarlott-Molina, Clerk
Leslie Bear Claw, Deputy Clerk

Blaine County
Kay Johnson, Clerk

Butte-Silver Bow County
Lori Maloney, Clerk

Carbon County
Rochelle Loyning, Clerk
Susan Metcalf, Deputy Clerk

Carter County
Marilyn Hutchinson, Clerk

Chouteau County
Rick Cook, Clerk

Custer County
Hazel Parker, Clerk

Daniels County
Patricia McDonnell, Clerk

Dawson County
Tammera Helmuth, Clerk

Fallon County
Jerrie Newell, Clerk
Julie Straub, Deputy Clerk

Fergus County
Phyllis Smith, Clerk

Flathead County
Peg Allison, Clerk

Gallatin County
Jennifer Brandon, Clerk

Garfield County
Jennifer Crawford, Clerk

Glacier County
Diane Anderson, Clerk

Golden Valley County
Mary Lu Berry, Clerk

Granite County
Carol Bohrnsen, Clerk
Bev Kulaski, Deputy Clerk

Hill County
Dena Tippets, Clerk

Jefferson County
Marilyn Craft, Clerk

Judith Basin County
Julie Peevey, Clerk

Lake County
Lyn Fricker, Clerk

Lewis & Clark County
Nancy Sweeney, Clerk
Lisa Kallio, Deputy Clerk

Liberty County
Anne Seidlitz-Melton, Clerk

Lincoln County
Susan Farmer, Clerk

Madison County
Bundy Bailey, Clerk
Kacey Smart, Deputy Clerk

McCone County
Debra Porter, Clerk

Meagher County
Donna Morris, Clerk

Missoula County
Shirley Faust, Clerk

Musselshell County
Connie Mattfield, Clerk
Barb Halverson, Deputy Clerk
Barbie Pelan, Deputy Clerk

Park County
June Little, Clerk
Nacoma Barton, Deputy Clerk

Petroleum County
Ashley Obrigewitch, Clerk

Phillips County
Iris Robinson, Clerk

Pondera County
Kara Thompson, Clerk

Powder River County
Aletta Shannon, Clerk

Powell County
Joan Burke, Clerk
Polly Green, Deputy Clerk

Ravalli County
Debbie Harmon, Clerk
Mary Sawyer, Deputy Clerk

Roosevelt County
Patricia A. Stennes, Clerk
Jeri Toavs, Deputy Clerk

Rosebud County
Elizabeth Ball-Mavity, Clerk

Sanders County
Dianne Rummel, Clerk

Sheridan County
Cheryl Olson, Clerk

Stillwater County
Sandra Fox, Clerk

Sweetgrass County
Deanna Novotny, Clerk

Teton County
Lisa Sinton, Clerk

Toole County
Sandra Peers, Clerk

Treasure County
Ruth Baker, Clerk
Rosemary Olson, Deputy Clerk

Valley County
Shelley Bryan, Clerk

Wheatland County
Janet Hill, Clerk

Yellowstone County
Carol Muessig, Clerk
Michelle Massine, Deputy Clerk

Jennifer Blessum, (406) 994-6694,