Montana State University

Planning Council

Montana State University
P.O. Box 172420
Bozeman, MT 59717-2420

Tel: (406) 994-2870
Fax: (406) 994-1883


Dr. Chris Fastnow

Planning Council

Please look for important announcments here:

Next Meeting:
Joint Meeting w/ Budget Council:
November 13, 1:00 - 2:00PM (PCR)

November 18, 1:00 - 2:00PM (PCR)


December 9, 2:00pm (PCR)


January 20, 2:00pm (PCR)

Montana Hall with the M.


The Planning Council is responsible for promoting an alignment between the institution’s strategic plan and resource development and allocation.  The Council defines the institutional criteria and procedures necessary to prioritize existing and proposed programs to be in alignment with MSU’s Strategic Plan.  In its advisory role to the President, the Council provides evidence-based input linking strategic planning with strategic execution, and facilitates the continuous evolution of the Strategic Plan itself.

Areas of Responsibility

  1. Assess and confirm the link between the priorities in the  Plan and the allocation of campus resources.
  2. Regularly review new opportunities and environmental factors to assess and update the Plan.
  3. Maintain a five year horizon on the Plan.
  4. Establish measures to track progress on elements of the Plan.
  5. Provide updates to the President and other Councils on progress toward Plan goals.
  6. Develop a communication plan; be an advocate and champion for the Plan.
  7. Review other unit level plans to ensure alignment with the Plan.
  8. Review the MUS Plan and realign the MSU Plan when necessary.
  9. Make recommendations to the BOR when necessary and appropriate.


VP for Planning Chair  
*College of Agriculture Representative  
*College of Arts & Architecture Representative  
*College of Business Representative  
*College of EHHD Representative  
*College of Engineering Representative  
*College of Letters & Science Representative  
*College of Nursing Representative  
*Library Representative  
Faculty Senate Representative [Designated by Senate]
Staff Senate Representative [Designated by Senate]
Professional Council Representative [Designated by Council]
ASMSU Representative [Designated by ASMSU]
Community Member [President's Advisory Council]
* This will be an elected,  two-year term beginning 2012-2013.