Name Position Represents Term# Ends
Richards, Abigail Member Chair 2 9/21
Walker, Brett Member Chair-elect 1 9/21
Amende, Kevin Member EN/Mechanical & Industrial Engineering 1 9/21
Anderson, Christina Member AR/Film and Photography 2 9/21
Anderson, Ryan Member EN/Chem Engr 1 9/19
Arnold, Shannon Member AG/Agricultural Education 2 9/20
Austin, Eric Member LS/Political Science 1 9/19
Belasco, Eric Member AG/Ag Econ 1 9/19
Berry, Michael Member EN/Civil Engr 1 9/19
Brody, Michael Member ED/Education 1 9/19
Carr, Patrick Member AG/Research Centers 1 9/21
Dana, Susan Member Business 1 9/20
Dratz, Ed Member LS/Chemistry and Biochemistry 1 9/19
Dunbar, Ed Member HHD/Health & Human Dev   9/20
Gao, Honwei Member EN/Electrical & Computer Engineering 1 9/21
Gedeon, Tomas  Member LS/Math Sciences 1 9/20
Haggerty, Julia Member LS/Earth Sciences   9/21
Haynes, George Member Extension/On Campus    
Herman, Matthew Member LS/Native American Studies 2 9/19
Izurieta, Clemente  Member EN/Computer Science  1 9/20
Jelinski, Jack Member Emeritus Faculty 1 9/21
Kosto, Allison  Member Extension/Off Campus 2 9/20
Little, Jeannie Member AR/Music 1 9/21
Mast, Sara Member AR/Art 1 9/21
McDermott, Timothy Member AG/Land Resources  1 9/19
McMahon, Tom
1 9/21
McPhee, Kevin Member AG/Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology 1 9/21
Meyer, James Member LS/History & Philosophy 2 9/20
Mukhopadhyay, Jaya Member AR/Architecture 1 9/20
Rebane, Aleks Member LS/Physics 1 9/19
Ruff, Julie Member Nursing/Off Campus    
Slye, Teresa Member Gallatin College 2 9/19
Sterman, Leila Member Library 1 9/19
Stowers, Steve Member LS/Cell Biology & Neuroscience 1 9/21
Thomas, Amy Member LS/English 1 9/19
Yamaguchi, Tomomi Member LS/Sociology & Anthropology 1 9/19
Yeoman, Carl Member AG/Animal & Range 2 9/20
Vacant Member LS/Modern Languages    
Vacant Member Nursing/On Campus    
Vacant Member LS/Psychology    
Vacant Member AG/Micro & Immuno    
Vacant Member NTT    
Adams, Edward Alternate EN/Civil Engr 1  
Amendola, Roberta Alternate EN/Mech & Ind Engr P  
Babbitt, Randy Alternate LS/Physics 1  
Becker, James Alternate EN/Elec & Comp Engr 1  
Black, Laura Alternate Business 1  
Budak, Hikmet Alternate AG/Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology    
Copie, Valerie Alternate LS/Chemistry and Biochemistry    
Dlakic, Mensur Alternate AG/Microbiology & Immunlogy 2  
Ellis, Colter Alternate LS/Sociology & Anthropology 1  
Engel, Rick Alternate AG/Land Resources 2  
Geyer, Lukas Alternate LS/Math Sciences 2  
Koltz, Rebecca Alternate HD/Health & Human Development    
Merzdorf, Christa Alternate LS/Cell Biology & Neuroscience 1  
Olson, Bret Alternate AG/Animal & Range Sciences 2  
Orme, Devon Alternate LS/Earth Sciences 2  
Perry, Dustin Alternate AG/Ag Ed P  
Regain, Melissa Alternate AR/Art 1  
Reidy, Michael Alternate LS/History & Philosophy    
Ricciardelli, Lucia Alternate AR/Film and Photography 1  
Rogers-Stanton, Christine Alternate ED/Education 1  
Rotella, Jay Alternate LS/Ecology 1  
Schloss, Carol Alternate Gallatin College 1  
Seymour, Joseph Alternate LS/Chemical & Biological Engineering 1  
Shanahan, Elizabeth Alternate LS/Political Science 1  
Stock, Wendy Alternate AG/Ag Econ 1  
Stoneback, Sarah Alternate AR/Music 1  
Wathen, Cristen Alternate HHD/Health & Hum Dev 1  
Watson, Bradford Alternate AR/Architecture 2  
Wittie, Mike Alternate EN/Computer Science 1  
Young, Scott Alternate Library 1  
Vacant Alternate AG/Research Centers    
Vacant Alternate Emeritus Faculty    
Vacant Alternate LS/Psychology    
Vacant Alternate Extension/On Campus    
Vacant Alternate Extension/Off Campus    
Vacant Alternate LS/Cell Biol & Neurosci    
Vacant Alternate LS/Micro & Immuno    
Vacant Alternate LS/Native American Studies    
Vacant Alternate Nursing/On Campus    
Vacant Alternate LS/English    


Provide a means for faculty and administration to interact and to discuss, formulate, and recommend university policy to the appropriate university authority. The Faculty Senate Constitution describes the powers of the Senate to recommend such policy, always within the constraints of the Montana University System powers as described in the Constitution of the State of Montana. Please see the Faculty Senate By Laws and Constitution.


Meetings will occur every other Wednesday of the month during the academic year and otherwise as called by the Chair. All meetings are conducted according to the MSU policy on open meetings.  The schedule may be viewed by clicking here.   


Voting Members: One member is elected from each academic department by the constituency of the department (or college where further division is not made). One member is elected from the Libraries and one from the Extension Service. The College of Nursing and the Extension Service each elect one additional member to represent the off-campus interests of each of those entities. Election constituencies are established according to Faculty Senate By-Laws.

Nonvoting Ex Officio Member: Administrative Associate of Faculty Senate

Length of Term

Elected members serve three year terms and may be reelected. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms. (See Faculty Senate By-Laws.) P = partial term.

Appointed By

Members are elected by their individual constituencies according to the By-Laws of Faculty Senate.


Current--Michael Babcock

Title--Professor, Psychology

Appointed By--Elected by Faculty Senate membership

Length of Term--One year, from September to September

Advisory To

Administrators of Montana State University-Bozeman

Reports Due

A Chair's report is included in the meeting, and minutes of meetings are found on the Faculty Senate web site

Mechanism for Changing This Information

Changes may be made to committee structure and information only in accordance with Faculty Senate Constitution and By-Laws. Authorization of changes comes only through the Secretary to Faculty Senate with the approval of the current Chair and Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate.