Montana State University

Radiation Safety Committee


Name Position Represents
Widenheft, BlakeChair Microbiology & Immunology
Berardinelli, Jim Ex Officio Animal & Range Sciences
Dyer, WilliamMember Plant Sciences & Plant Pathology
Harmsen, AnnMember Microbiology & Immunology
Macur, RichardMember Center for Biofilm Engineering
Hofer, Curtis Ex Officio Radiation Safety Officer


Ensure that all University activities requiring the use of radiation or radioactive materials are performed within specific regulatory standards, and the particular conditions of its broad-scope byproduct materials licenses; set policy which will be coordinated through Radiation Safety Office; perform reviews of routine applications involving radioactive material or radiation use; ensure that exposure to radioactive material or radiation producing equipment are maintained at levels as low as reasonably achievable; review activities performed by Radiation Safety Office; prepare and maintain all Committee business; participate in search and selection of candidates for positions of Radiation Safety Officers and ancillary radiation safety support staff.


At least quarterly, but as often as necessary to consider all aspects pertinent to radiation safety.


Voting Members: All members excluding the Facilities Services representative.
Ex Officio Members: Director, Safety and Risk Management, Radiation Safety Officer, Facilities Services Representative.

Length of Term

Term of office

Appointed By

Vice President for Research, Creativity and Technology Transfer from nominees selected by Radiation Safety Committee.


Current--Mark Quinn
Title-- Professor, Immunology & Infectious Disease
Appointed By--Radiation Safety Committee
Length of Term--Indefinite

Advisory To

Vice President for Research, Creativity and Technology Transfer

Reports Due

Annually to the Vice President for Research, Creativity and Technology Transfer

Membership; Updated April 9, 2014