Security Committee


Name Position Title Represents
Edelman, Adam Chair Chief Security Officer MSU
Barber, Michael Member Chief Information Officer MSU-Billings
Benham, Harry Member Assoc Professor, College of Business MSU-Bozeman
Beaubois, Terry Member Director, Creative Research Lab MSU-Bozeman
Bowers, Ken Member Dept Head, Mathematical Sciences MSU-Bozeman
Brown, Rock Member Director, Information Technology Services MSU-Northern
Court, David Member Finance Banner Team Lead MSU-Bozeman
Puffer, Glenn Member Assoc Dean, Student Success MSU-Bozeman
Wardinsky, Ken Member Chief Technology Officer MSU-Great Falls
Zelver, Nick Member Associate Director, Technology Transfer Office MSU-Bozeman
Adams, Daniel Non-Voting Director, Internal Audit MSU


  1. Recommend to the Information Technology Governance Committee (ITGC) pertinent policies, major procedures, significant strategic initiatives, and extensive security enhancements, for its review and endorsement.
  2. Provide advice and guidance for MSU's 4-campus Security Operations Team in regard to the operation, maintenance and enhancement of MSU's IT security procedures.
  3. Develop and establish regular communications with constituents from all Campuses and Agencies of MSU via the Security Operations Team, Service Providers Group, Secure Web Applications Group, and ITC Security Collaboration Group.
  4. The Security Committee will serve as a resource to Academic Technology Advisory Committee (ATAC), Enterprise Technology Advisory Committee (ETAC), and University Technology Advisory Committee (UTAC) providing recommendations and guidance related to information security when appropriate. The Security Committee will have non-voting representation on ATAC, ETAC, and UTAC.


Committee meets bi-monthly.

Meetings Schedule:
September 14, 2011, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM (SUB 168)
November 09,2011, 3:00 PM -04:00 PM (SUB 168)
January 11, 2012, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM (SUB 168)
March 03, 2012, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM (SUB 168)
May 09, 2012, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM (SUB 168)


All members are appointed and are voting.

Length of Term

Three year terms.

Appointed By

Chair, IT Governance Committee


Current--Adam Edelman

Title—Chief Security Officer

Appointed By--Vice President for Planning and CIO

Length of Term--Term of Office

Advisory To

IT Governance Committee

Reports Due

  • Monthly submittal of meeting Agenda and Summary.
  • Annual submittal of activities report.
  • Others, at request of IT Governance Committee.