Montana State University

Space Management Committee


Name Position Represents Term# Ends
Leist, Terry Chair VP Administration & Finance - Perm.
Potvin, Martha Vice Chair Provost -- Perm.
Reijo Pera, Renee Member VP Research & Technology -- Perm.
Clinton, William Member Professional 2 9/14
Cornwell, Nancy Member UFPB Chair -- Perm.
Hietala, Bob Member Deans Council Representative 1 9/14
Marley, Robert Member VP Student Success - Perm.
Pernarowski, Mark Member Faculty Senate 1 10/14
Van Horn, Bill Member Staff Senate 3 9/17
Sterman, Leila Member Faculty Senate 1 9/16
ASMSU President Member ASMSU Representative - ----
Fastnow, Chris Ex Officio Planning & Analysis -- Perm.
Banziger, Walt Staff Support Dir Fac, Planning Design & Construction -- ----
Drummond, Victoria Staff Support Facilities Planner -- ----
Dubois, Billy Staff Support Registrar -- ----
Hook, EJ Staff Support Facilities Services -- ----
Hume, Matt Staff Support Facilities Services -- ----
Lashaway, Robert Staff Support Facilities Services -- ----


Develop policies and plans for allocations, conversions and growth; monitor, adjudicate and report on assignments and utilization of spaces requested. Review and judge all plans for changes that may affect the use, configuration, allocation or capacity of any classroom or class lab space (including both Registrar and non-Registrar allocated classrooms).

Please see the Space Management Committee Principles.
Please see the Space Management Committee Procedures.


Scheduled the first Friday of each month, from10:00 AM to Noon, in the Presidents Conference Room in Montana Hall.


All members and ex officios are voting; all staff support are non-voting.

Length of Term

Varies; for professional and faculty, 3 years.

Appointed By

Dean's Council, Faculty Council, PEPAC, and Staff Senate shall nominate candidates for the respective SMC representatives and forward them to the President for appointment. The ASMSU President shall appoint an ASMSU representative.

Chair Vice Chair
Current--Terry Leist
Title--Vice President for Administration & Finance
Appointed By--Position
Length of Term--Term of office
Current--Martha Potvin
Appointed By--Committee
Length of Term--Three Years

Advisory To

President's Executive Council

Reports Due

As requested

Membership; Updated April 23, 2014