> University Police > Parking Services
For all emergencies dial 911. For non-emergencies call 994-2121. The University Police Department is staffed 24 hours a day and responds to all requests for emergencies as well as for information.
All vehicles parked on campus (except Saturday, Sunday, and holidays) between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. weekdays must be registered. This does not include the fee lot. A holiday is defined as "day when campus offices are closed for business".
Parking regulations are in effect for any property owned by Montana State University including main Campus, Safety and Risk Management, Marsh Labs, Agriculture Facilities, Stadium and Museum of the Rockies.
Parking area south of Kagy, surrounding athletic facility and Museum of the Rockies are available for event parking only. Parking permits do not guarantee that a space will be available at all times for registered vehicles. These regulations will be enforced in their entirety. Please acquaint yourself with the contents, since ignorance of the regulations will not be considered in appeals.
Web site: www.montana.edu/wwwmsupd
Refer to Safe Cycling at MSU pamphlet for Bicycle Regulations
- General Policy
- General Regulations
- Special Occasions and Emergencies
- Amendments to Regulations
- Parking Fee Schedule
Parking at Montana State University is a user-based system. Income derived from the sale of parking permits and from the collection of parking fines assessed under these regulations is used for administration, maintenance, and improvement of parking facilities. By state law, the parking operation receives no funding from the general university appropriations.
These regulations are designed to foster convenience and safety for all personnel and facilitate efficient operation of the University. They are applicable to all persons operating motor vehicles on University owned or controlled property. Also, they are deemed a part of the terms and conditions of admission and enrollment of students, employment of staff members, and privilege of visitors to operate motor vehicles on campus. The University campus proper and University property is considered a part of Montana State University campus and within the scope of these regulations.
Parking Motor Vehicles on Campus is a Privilege and NOT a RIGHT.
This privilege is acquired and maintained by registration and operation (including parking) of any motor vehicle pursuant to these regulations. Although acquired, this privilege may be revoked or suspended.
All persons parking a vehicle on campus (except Saturday, Sunday, and holidays) between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00p.m. weekdays must be registered. This includes all University controlled streets and lots. University controlled streets and lots are shown on the campus parking map. All streets in family and graduate housing are University controlled. Parking permits are sold on an annual basis effective September 1 through August 31.
- Daily Parking Permits:
Daily parking permits may be purchased at the Visitor Information Booth located at South 7th Avenue and West Grant Street or the University Police Department. Customers can call 994-2121 to make prior arrangements for parking.
- Registration Fees
- FEE LOT PARKING:
Free for the first half-hour
Fee lot hours are 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
$2.00 for 1/2-1 hour
$.50 for each additional hour
$5.00 maximum per entry
$1.00 for 6-11:00 p.m.
No overnight parking. Vehicles parked overnight are subject to fee lot charge, citations and/or tow.
- STATE & FEDERAL: State and Federal vehicles using University Parking must buy and display a valid permit and park accordingly.
- Parking Permit:
Registration is not considered complete or valid unless the hangtag is mounted on the rearview mirror of the vehicle, plainly visible from the exterior of the car.
- Purchaser Liability:
The person who purchases a permit from the University is responsible for all future citations linked to that permit.
- Any change in vehicle registration information must be reported to the University Police Department as soon as possible.
- The operator, registrant and/or owner registered or unregistered, of a vehicle is responsible for all violations recorded against the vehicle.
As a student, staff, or faculty, you are responsible for anyone parking your vehicle on campus and you are responsible for all fines.
- Falsifying information on registration applications is prohibited and will void the registration. The term “falsifying information” includes, but is not be limited to falsification of name, residence, license number, or any other data required for registration of a motor vehicle or motorcycle.
- The purchase of annual parking permits for privately owned vehicles and payment of parking citations shall be paid from personal funds. The use of any institutional funding source to pay for either private parking permits or parking citations is unauthorized and against University policy. The purchase of employee parking permits must be made by cash, personal check, personal credit card, One Card, or by payroll deduction.
- ADA Accessible Parking Spaces
ADA accessible parking is available in spaces marked with designated signs. A Handicap parking permit or license plate issued by state government is required in addition to a University issued hangtag to park in these spaces.
People with short term medical conditions or injuries may be issued a one week permit from and at the discretion of University Police to park in handicap spaces. Such permits are not valid in reserved lots. People with such conditions or injuries who need handicap parking longer than one week must obtain a handicap parking permit from the Montana Department of Justice, Motor Vehicle Division in Deer Lodge. Forms to apply for these permits are available at the University Police Department or online at www.doj.mt.gov/driving/forms/mv5.pdf. This state permit, in conjunction with any MSU permit allows parking in designated handicap parking spaces on campus.
- Limitations. Monday through Friday the following limitations apply:
- R (Reserved) may park in their R designated lot or in SB, E, F, or D designated areas.
- SB (Commuters) may park in SB, E, F, FH, or D designated areas.
- E (Residence Hall students) may park only in E, F, or D designated areas.
- D (Commuter, Residence Hall students) may park only in D or F designated areas.
- F (Commuter staff and students) may park only in the F designated areas. Eligible to access all lots, except for reserved, at 4:00 p.m. each day.
- FH (Family and Graduate housing) may park only in FH designated areas. They may pay to “upgrade” the first issued permit to an SB. There is no multiple or second vehicle discounts for Family and Graduate housing. (See below for specific rules concerning Family and Graduate housing residents)
- Parking area south of Kagy, surrounding athletic facility and Museum of the Rockies are available for event parking only.
- Special permits are issued for all two-wheeled motor vehicles. Permit mounting instructions are printed on the permit cover. All two wheeled motor vehicles may park only in areas specifically designated and posted for their use.
- Bicycle permits are available and registration is recommended for any bicycle on campus to aid in the return of stolen or lost bicycles.
- Hangtags for Visitors/Staff/Student/Faculty are available:
$2.50 per day to park in any SB, E, F, or D lot.
- Retiree: Retirees from Montana State University-Bozeman will be entitled to a single vehicle SB permit each year, free of charge. Documentation is to be provided by University Personnel and Payroll to substantiate this status. The permit is issued only to the retiree and is non-transferable.
- Trailers, Campers, Recreation Vehicles, Oversized Vehicles etc.:
The owner/user of any non-motorized unit (trailer, camper, etc) occupying a parking space on the campus shall be restricted to parking in the gravel portion of the South Fieldhouse parking lot or an area designated by University Police. Parking more that 2 days may require a parking hangtag that may be purchased at the University Police Department. Such vehicles may not be occupied overnight.
- General Policy
- Parking and Traffic:
All matters concerning parking and traffic should be referred to the University Police Department, at the Huffman Building, on the corner of 7th Street and Kagy Boulevard.
- University Police:
The University Police are certified sworn peace officers and are empowered to enforce all state laws.
Montana State University assumes no responsibility for care or protection of any vehicle or its contents while operated or parked on campus.
Students, faculty staff, and visitors of the University are subject to such fines and penalties as listed in these regulations.
- Reserved Lots:
Reserved Lots are enforced either 24 hours a day or 6 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday with the exception of University staff holidays (days when campus offices are closed). Violators will be ticketed and towed.
- 24 Hour Enforcement:
The following will be enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week: 24 hour reserved, 30 minute zones, yellow zones, fire lanes, service drives, service parking and loading zones.
- General Regulations
State laws and University regulations will be enforced on the campus of Montana State University 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Drivers of vehicles on the campus shall comply with all signs, markings and devices properly placed by University Policy for the purpose of regulating, warning or guiding traffic.
- Speed Limit:
For those streets and alleyways, which do not have speed limits posted, the speed limit is 25 mph.
- Family and Graduate Housing:
Residents parking in Family and Graduate housing are required to display either a valid FH or SB permit at all times. Reserved parking is provided for each unit with the exception of Westside houses. Visitors to Family and Graduate housing are not permitted to park in reserved parking stalls. During the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, visitors are required to display a valid visitor hangtag from their rearview mirror. These may be obtained at the Family and Graduate Housing Office during office hours of 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at no cost. Visitor hangtags may also be purchased at the University Police department 24 hours a day or at the Visitor Information Booth from 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily for $2.50 per day.
People who visit on weekends, holidays, or after hours are not required to have a visitor hangtag. They are however, required to park in designated visitor parking or FH parking. Visitors who display a valid parking permit (FH or SB) will not be penalized as long as they park in FH (not Visitor) parking areas only between 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Residents who have an unauthorized vehicle parked in their reserved stall may call University Police and request a citation be issued. These tenants will be required to prove registration of the parking stall by showing their yellow parking authorization slip. The Family and Graduate Housing Office provides this authorization slip to the tenant at check-in.
- Vehicle Repair:
No vehicles shall be parked in any University parking area while undergoing major repairs without permission of the University Police Department. All vehicles must be operable and in good running condition.
Any vehicle found in violation of the following may be towed and impounded by the University Police:
- Vehicles parked in reserved parking spaces without a valid hangtag or permission from the President's Office.
- Vehicles parked in a tow away zone.
- Any vehicle that may constitute a hazard, interferes with University operations, blocks a street or driving lane in a parking lot, or is inoperable.
- Vehicles that are unregistered with the University Police and have accumulated 3 or more paid or unpaid parking citations.
- Habitual Offenders are identified as a person who has 10 or more paid or unpaid citations accrued in one academic year. The offender will surrender any parking hangtag and not be eligible for any refund. Parking privileges will be suspended for the remaining academic year.
- The operator/owner of the vehicle will be liable for towing and impound costs and all risks involved. Any unclaimed, impounded vehicle will be disposed of according to State law. Towing charges are incurred even if the owner of the vehicle arrives before the tow is completed. Tow fees are only canceled if the vehicle owner arrives within five minutes of the tow services being contacted.
- Prohibited Parking:
No parking will be allowed at any time in service drives, service parking, or loading zones without securing permission, prior to use, from the University Police Department at extension 2121. Permission is limited to specific time periods.
No parking or driving is allowed on lawns, grassy areas or sidewalks.
Pedestrians have the right of way at intersections, designated crosswalks, and on all sidewalks. People riding bikes are not considered pedestrians and shall yield to pedestrians.
- Proper Parking:
The position of any vehicle when parked must be located within the boundaries of the parking space. The fact that other vehicles are parked improperly is not an excuse for parking any part of the vehicles over any line.
The Regents of the Montana University System have been authorized by legislative action to levy fines against students, faculty and staff for violation of parking, traffic or registration regulations.
- The fines for the following violations of regulations vary between $30 and $175, starting September 1, 2009. Here is the cost for parking violations.
$60 24 Hr Reserved Spaces
$30 Altered Hang Tag
$30 Violation of Bicycle Regulations
$30 Blocking Trash Receptacles
$30 Failure To Display Valid Permit
$60 Failure To Register
$175 False Registration
$60 Fire Lane
$100 Handicap Spaces
$30 Herrick 15 Minute
$30 Not In Designated Area
$30 Not In E Lot
$30 Over Line - 2 Spaces
$30 Overtime Parked
$45 Parked In Yellow Zone
$30 Parked or Driving On Lawn
$30 Parking In Crosswalk
$30 Parking In Or Block Drive
$30 Parking/driving On Sidewalk
$45 Posted No Parking
$60 Reserved 6 Am - 6 Pm
$30 See Officer Comment
$45 Service Drive
$30 Service Vehicle Parking Only
$30 Student Health Parking Only
$30 Student/staff In Vis. Area
$30 Svc Vehicle/special Permit Req.
$60 Tow Away Zone
$75 Towed With University Tow
$30 Vendor Parking Only
$30 Wrong Side Parked
- Unauthorized use of Handicapped stalls is a $100.00 fine.
- University tow $75.00 minimum charge. Impound fee $5 a day.
- Use of a lost, stolen, forged or counterfeit permit is a $175.00 fine and is subject to a University tow.
- The Parking Appeals Committee is composed of faculty, staff and student members appointed by the Vice President for Administration.
- If a person wishes to appeal a fine, he or she must appear at the University Police Department by the date designated on the ticket and file a notice of appeal. The Parking Appeals Committee will hear all appeals. Fines upheld by the Parking Appeals Committee must be paid within seven days. Failure to do so will constitute a second offense also subject to fine.
- The University is authorized by Montana statute to withhold the amount of any unpaid parking fines from any amount owing any student, employee or faculty member.
- Student transcripts may also be held for unpaid parking fines, and unpaid fines may be added to student accounts for collection purposes.
- A lost ticket, forgetfulness, parking for only a short period, failure to display parking permit, and/or not seeing the signs are NOT acceptable grounds for appeal.
- Special Occasions and Emergencies
On special occasions and in emergencies, the University Police Department as required will impose additional parking limitations.
Any accident involving a vehicle on University property must be reported to the University Police Department by the quickest means.
The University Police Department is open 24 hours a day and can be reached by telephone at 994-2121.
- Mechanical Failure:
Whenever a car is parked improperly because of mechanical failure, the owner or driver must notify the University Police Department of the situation immediately.
- Amendments to Regulations
These regulations may be amended at any time and such amendments will become effective by the order of the University President and by posting notices on the bulletin boards throughout the campus and publishing notices in local or University publications for three consecutive weeks.
- Parking Fee Schedule