Research Home Page


Faculty Awards

Cox Family Awards for Creative Scholarship and Teaching

The 2002 winners were Paul Monaco, media and theatre arts; Alanna Brown, English; and Charles Paden, cell biology and neuroscience. The 2001 winners were F. William (Bill) Brown, business; Mark Jutila, veterinary molecular biology; and Marcy Barge, mathematical sciences.

Charles and Nora L. Wiley Faculty Award for Meritorious Research and Creativity

The 2002 winners were Randy Babbitt, physics; Anne Camper, Center for Biofilm Engineering/engineering; Susan Kollin, English; and Timothy Minton, chemistry. The 2001 winners were Gwendolyn Morgan, English; Michele Hardy, veterinary molecular biology; and Richard Morrison, microbiology.

James and Mary Ross Provost's Award for Excellence

Raymond Ansotegui, animal and range science, was the 2002 winner. The 2001 recipient was John Carlston, physics.

President's Excellence in Teaching Award

The 2002 winners were Kimberly Myers, English; Theodore Hodgson, mathematical sciences; and Max Deibert, chemical engineering. The 2001 winners were Greg Francis, physics, and John Brittingham, architecture.

College of Letters and Science Outstanding Teaching Award

The 2002 winners were Jeff Adams, physics, for tenure track, and Glen Barrett, English, for non-tenure track. Winning in 2001 were David Cherry, history, for tenure-track and Tim Slater, physics, for non-tenure track.

Betty Coffey Award

The 2002 winner was Michelle Maskiell, history and philosophy. The 2001 winner was Sharon Hapner, cell biology and neuroscience.

"Irish Rhodes" winner

Michelle Miles, a member of the staff at MSU's Writing Center, was one of 12 national recipients of a George J. Mitchell Scholarship. The elite scholarship, given by the U.S.-Ireland Alliance, has been called the "Irish Rhodes" scholarship and shares several similarities with the Rhodes scholarship.

Anna K. Fridley Excellence in Teaching Award

Susan K. Gibson, cell biology and neuroscience.

Michael P. Malone Professor

Billy Smith, history.

Student Awards

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships

The 2002 recipients for the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for undergraduate excellence in science and math were Zeb Barber of Belgrade, a junior studying laser optics; Sara Maccagnano of Churchhill, a 30-year-old senior studying solid physics; and Britney Moss, 18, of Bozeman, a junior studying biochemistry. This was Maccagnano's second Goldwater Scholarship. She won her first in 2000 and was required to reapply for her fifth year as an undergraduate. The 2001 Goldwater scholars were Laura Jennings of Helena and Kay Kirkpatrick of Dillon. They were juniors when they received the scholarship. Jennings majored in chemical engineering and Kirkpatrick in mathematics.

Canon Scholar

Graduate student Andy Bunn was one of eight new Canon National Parks Science Scholars recognized Feb. 20, 2002 in a Washington, D.C. ceremony with Interior Secretary Gale Norton and National Park Service Director Fran Mainella. The Canon scholarship gave Bunn $75,000 to continue his research in Yellowstone, Yosemite and Sequoia national parks. Bunn, who is working on a Ph.D. in land resources and environmental sciences, is using tree rings to interpret what the climate was like at high elevations over the past millennium.

All-USA College Academic Teams

USA Today named two MSU seniors to its 13th annual All-USA College Academic Teams in 2002. Phenocia Baurle, an enrolled member of the Crow Tribe crafted authentic Crow stories collected 50 years ago by her family into a book to be published this year by the University of Nebraska Press. She was one of 20 students named to the newspaper's first team. Kay Kirkpatrick of Dillon, who also received the Alice T. Schafer Prize this year for being the nation's best female mathematics student, was named to the third team.

NSF Research Fellowships

Three students who received the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship while at MSU went on to win a 2002 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. Amanda Cundy of Bozeman, Carl Legleiter of Englewood, Colo. and Kay Kirkpatrick of Dillon each received an annual stipend of $21,000 which they can use any three years in a five-year period. The fellowship also pays up to $10,500 a year for tuition and fees. Cundy received her Goldwater in 1999, Legleiter in 2000 and Kirkpatrick in 2001.

Outstanding Student

Alyssa Reynolds, master of science candidate in civil engineering, was named the Outstanding Student of 2001 by the Research and Special Programs Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Selection was based on accomplishments in such areas as technical merit and research, academic performance, professionalism and leadership.

Phi Kappa Phi

Outstanding senior for 2002 was Kay Kirkpatrick of Dillon, mathematics. She also received the $8,000 Phi Kappa Phi graduate fellowship for 2002. Outstanding junior for 2002 was Laura Jennings of Helena, chemical engineering.

Foundation's Graduate Achievement Awards for 2002

Marilyn King of Bozeman, Ph.D. in educational administration; and Chelle Crowder of Coos Bay, Ore., master's in electrical and computer engineering.

Foreword | Bioterrorism Research | Drought, Fire and Weeds | Call of the Wild
Lights! Camera! Bacteria! | Art Takes Flight | Big Crowd, Big Mike Turn Out | MSU-Tribal College Dana Longcope | Paranoia to White Jazz
To Slamdance and Beyond! | Campus Sees Boom in E-Journals
TechLink Drums Up Success for Innovation
"Powerful Triumvirate" Explores Foundation of the Universe
Undaunted Stewardship Encourages Visitors, Preserves Resources
Student-Built Satellite to Fly on Converted Missile
Research Notes | Faculty and Student Awards
A Summary of Research Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2002