Research Home Page   

2003 Awards

Faculty awards

Cox Family Awards for Creative Scholarship and Teaching
William Wyckoff, earth sciences; Gordon Brittan, history and philosophy; and Gwen Jacobs, cell biology and neurosicence.

Charles and Nora L. Wiley Faculty Award for Meritorious Research and Creativity
William Costerton, director of the Center for Biofilm Engineering; Dana Longcope, associate professor of physics; and Clark Maxam, associate professor of finance.

James and Mary Ross Provost's Award for Excellence
David Cherry, history.

President's Excellence in Teaching Award
Steven Eiger, cell biology and neuroscience, WWAMI; Michael Beehler, English; and Susan Dana, business.

College of Letters and Science Outstanding Teaching Award
Lynda Sexson, religious studies, for the tenure track award, and Yuka Hara, instructor of Japanese, for the non-tenure track award.

Betty Coffey Award
Joan Henson, microbiology.

Anna K. Fridley Excellence in Teaching Award
Kathleen Chafey, nursing.

Blue and Gold Award
Stuart Knapp, scholar, administrator, teacher and long-time supporter of higher education. One of the top awards given by the Montana State University Alumni Association, the Blue and Gold Award honors a person who has rendered great lifetime service or who has brought national or international distinction to MSU or to the state of Montana. Knapp retired from MSU in 1999.

Karen Harvey Prize
Dana Longcope, physics, for theoretical studies of the sun. The prize is given by the Solar Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

Sigmund Koch Early Career Award
John Christopher, health and human development, for work on alternative conceptions of self and well-being. The award is given by the American Psychological Association.

Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year
Christie Johnson, business

Fulbright Scholars
Walter Metz, media and theatre arts; Doug Young, agricultural economics and economics; Kath Williams, architecture; Sitka Karahan, business

Gilhousen Telecommunications Chair
Richard Wolff, vice president of research at Telcordia Advanced Network Systems Research Lab, New Jersey

National Society of Collegiate Scholars,MSU Distinguished Member
Nancy Dodd, business

Student awards

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship
Bonnie Kirkpatrick of Dillon. Hers was the second Goldwater awarded to the George and Denise Kirkpatrick family. Kay, Bonnie's sister, won a Goldwater in 2001.

Truman Scholarship
Kathryn J. "Katie" Conner, an English major from Great Falls, was the ninth MSU student to receive the $30,000 merit-based grant awarded to students who evidence potential and dedication to public service.

International design contest
Onawa Linden of Helena, a graphic design major, won a gold medal in an international student design competition sponsored by the Agfa Gevaert Group. She was one of 14 winners from around the world and two from the United States in Agfa's 2002 Young Creatives Competition.

Phi Kappa Phi
Laura Jennings of Helena, chemical engineering, received the $8,000 Phi Kappa Phi graduate fellowship. Hailey Haffey of Anaconda, English, was named outstanding senior. Outstanding junior was Kathryn Conner of Great Falls, English.

Foundation's Graduate Achievement Awards for 2002/2003
Randy Reibel of Colorado Springs, Colo., Ph.D. in physics; and Anthony "Chip" Lukes III of Missoula, master's in electrical engineering.

Life on Ice | Big things from tiny technology | Avalanche Research | Searching Through Hell
Genetics are key to those amber waves of grain | From the bone beds and back
Finding hope in hard times | Group rethinks radar with lasers and crystals | Foreword | Home
Student passion, purpose create "Way of the Warrior"
Chemistry sounded good until the sinus infections
Research Notes | Faculty and Student Awards | Research Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2003

(c)2003 Montana State University-Bozeman For permission to reprint any part of this report, contact:
Editor • Report on Research • P.O. Box 172460 • Bozeman, MT 59717-2460 • (406) 994-5607