Montana State University
Academics | Administration | Admissions | A-Z Index | Directories

Montana State Universityspacer Mountains and Minds
MSU AcademicsspacerMSU AdministrationspacerMSU AdmissionsspacerMSU A-Z IndexspacerMSU Directoriesspacer

Contact Us

Bobcat Rodeo Office
239 Brick Breeden Fieldhouse
Bozeman, MT 59717
Office: 406-994-2403
Fax: 406-994-2703


Bobcat Rodeo is one of the great, storied programs in the history of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. In addition to almost 30 years of hosting the College National Finals Rodeo, MSU Rodeo teams have claimed 8 national team titles, 32 individual national championships, and a multitude of Big Sky Regional crowns. At the completion of the 2010-2011 seasons, the Bobcat Men's Team finished as Reserve Champions and the Women's Team finished as Champions for the Big Sky Region. At the 2011 CNFR, the MSU women's team won the national championship with Kate Sharon leading the team with a national championship in the goat tying, followed by Robbi Nace with a reserve national title in the barrel racing, Lexy Rianda and Hannah Sharon with respectable top ten finishes in the goat tying and barrel racing and Dani Dowton, qualifying in the break-away roping. Also at the 2011 CNFR, Ben Ayre and Weston Zupan placed top ten respecitvely in the tie down roping and steer wrestling.

2010-2011 Team

For the 2014-2015 year, the MSU Rodeo team consists of 59 members, including 31 men and 28 women. We operate under the umbrella of the Division of Student Student Success, headed by Dr. Chris Kearns, Vice President for Student Success. . The 'Cats are coached by Mike True, who is assisted by former MSU Rodeo standout Andy Bolich. We are ably supported by our outstanding booster organization, the CAT Rodeo Scholarship Association.

Individual National Championships 1949 to Present

1949: Bob Sauke, Wild Cow Milking
1958: Vic Small, Steer Wrestling
1960: Hale Jeffers, Steer Wrestling
1961: Gary Murphy, Steer Wrestling
1961: Sue Burgraff Melaney, Women's all-around
1964: Karen Coleman Miller, Goat tying
1966: Carol O'Rourke Smith, Women's All-Around
1971: Jan Walter Wagner, Break-away Roping and Women's All-Around
1972: Bob Schall, Bareback Riding
1972: Lynn Perry, Steer Wrestling
1972: Dean Perkins, Ribbon Roping
1972: Jock McDowell, Saddle Bronc
1973: Jock McDowell, Saddle Bronc
1974: Butch Bratsky, Bull Riding
1975: Bud Monroe, Saddle Bronc
1978: Dave Griffith, Saddle Bronc
1979: Dave Griffith, Saddle Bronc
1988: Ken Lensegrav, Bareback and Men's All-Around

1988: Rex Phillips, Bull Ridingteam roping
1989: Ken Lensegrav, Bareback and Reserve Men's All-Around
1991: Shawn Vant, Bareback
1992: Dan Mortenson, Saddle Bronc
1992: Lana Tibbetts, Goat Tying
1992: Bareback and Men's All-Around
1994: Jason Jackson, Bareback and Men's All-Around
1995: Jason Jackson, Bull Riding and Men's All-Around
Shawn Vant
2011: Kate Sharon, Goat Tying
2011: Robbi Nace, Reserve Barrel Racing
2012: Ty Erickson, Men's All-Around
2013: Ty Erickson, Men's All-Around

National Champion Teams and honorable mentions

1964: Women's Team, 3rd place
1966: Men's Team, 4th place Women's Team 3rd Place
1967: Women's Team, Reserve
1970: Women's Team, 3rd place
1971 Womens' Team, 5th Place
1972: Men's Team, National Champions
1974: Men's Team, Reserve
1975: Men's Team, National Champions; Women's Team 3rd Place
1977: Women's Team, Reserve
1980: Men's Team, 6th Place
1985: Women's Team, 4th Place
1986: Women's Team, National Champions; Men's Team 6th Place
1987: Men's Team, 4th place
1988: Men's Team, National Champions
1989: Men's Team, Reserve
1990: Men's Team National Champions
1991: Men's Team National Champions
1992: Men's Team, 3rd Place; Women's Team 3rd Place
1993: Women's Team, 3rd Place
1994: Men's Team, 6th Place
1995: Men's Team, National Champions
1996: Men's Team, 4th place
2006: Men's Team, 5th place
2011: Women's Team National Champions
2012: Mens' Team,6th place
2014: Men's Team, 5th Place






Click here to view our 2011-2012 athletes!