Montana State University

Department of History, Philosophy and Religious Studies

Montana State University
P.O. Box 172320
Bozeman, MT 59717-3440

Tel: (406) 994-4395
Fax: (406) 994-7420
Email: history@montana.edu
Location: 2-155 Wilson Hall

Department Chair

Dr. David Cherry
dcherry@montana.edu

Make a Gift to the College of Letters and Science

History Faculty

David CherryDavid Cherry

Department Chair

Phone: (406) 994-4397

Email: dcherry@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-155

Research Interests: Roman North Africa


Catherine DunlopCatherine Dunlop

Phone: (406) 994-5098

Email: catherine.dunlop@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-171

Research Interests: Modern Europe, Cartography, Politics of Space, Borderlands


Maggie GreeneMaggie Greene

Phone: (406) 994-5203

Email: margaret.greene1@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-162

Research Interests: Modern Chinese History; Modern Japanese History; Modern Chinese Literature
and Cultural Studies; Pre-modern Chinese History


Robin HardyRobin Hardy

Phone: (406) 994-5213

Email: rahardy25@gmail.com

Office: Wilson 2-168

Research Interests: Modern Europe, French Colonialism in Africa


Joan HoffJoan Hoff

Email: joanhoff1@aol.com

Research Interests: American Presidents

 

 


Timothy LeCainTim LeCain

Graduate Program Director

Phone: (406) 994-7585

Email: tlecain@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-108

Research Interests: Environmental Technology, 20th Century US


Dale MartinDale Martin

Phone: (406) 994-5204

Email: dlmartin@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-163

Research Interests: Montana and the West, Railroads, America in World War I


Michelle MaskiellMichelle Maskiel

Professor Emeritus

Email: maskiell@montana.edu

Research Interests: Gender in Modern South Asia, Textiles


Mike McManusMike McManus

Phone: (406) 994-5210

Email: mcube1820@gmail.com

Office: Wilson 2-149

Research Interests: The American Civil War Era; Politics, Slavery & Race in American from 1790-1880


Jim MeyerJim Meyer

Phone: (406) 994-6798

Email: james.meyer7@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-102

Research Interests: Turkey, Ottoman Empire, Eurasian Studies, Russia


Mary MurphyMary Murphy

Phone: (406) 994-5206

Email: mmurphy@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-165

Research Interests: History of Food in America, Gender in the American West


Michael Reidy Michael Reidy

Phone: (406) 994-5252

Email: mreidy@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-170

Research Interests: History of Science and Technology, History of Mountaineering


Robert RydellRobert Rydell

Phone: (406) 994-7929

Email: rwrydell@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-101

Research Interests: US Intellectual & Cultural History; Museum Studies, World's Fairs


Diane SmithDiane Smith

Email: diane.smith@msu.montana.edu

Research Interests: Museums, Zoos and National Parks; Wilderness and wildland fire research;
Wildlife and conservation biology

 


Billy SmithBilly Smith

Phone: (406) 994-5207

Email: bgs@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-166

Research Interests: Early America, Race, Class and Slavery, Disease, Mapping Early America


Bradley Snow

Phone: (406) 994-5210

Email: bdsnow65@gmail.com

Office: Wilson 2-149

Research Interests: Environmental History, History of the U.S. West, 20th and early 21st Century U.S. History


Molly ToddMolly Todd

Phone: (406) 994-5200

Email: molly.todd@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-159

Research Interests: Latin American History, Violence and Human Rights, Displacement and Migration, Social Movements


Brett WalkerBrett Walker

Regents Professor

Phone: (406) 994-5201

Email: bwalker@montana.edu

Office: Wilson 2-160

Research Interests: Environmental History, Japanese History, History of Science and Medicine