MT Science Olympiad

Science Math Resource Center

401 Linfield Hall, MSU PO Box: 172804

Bozeman, MT 59717 Email:


Toll Free: 800-455-7837 ph: 406-994-6768

fax: 994-3733

Coaches Advisory Board

The Coaches Advisory Board (CAB) was created this year in order for the

Amanda Becker is a high school teacher for North Toole County High school, and coach of NTCHS's Science Olympaid team.

Cynthia Pokorny teaches at Big Sandy High School, and coaches Big Sandy's Science Olympiad teams.

Eric Nygaard teaches science at Thompson Falls High School and coaches their Science Olympiad team.

Jerry McCarthy coaches the Helena High school Science Olympaid team and teaches physics and earth sciences at the high school.

Justin Guyer is a science teacher and Science Olympiad coach for Fergus High school in Lewistown MT.

Rolland Karlin is a retired science teacher and coached Big Timber Middle School into multiple state championships.

Ted Polette - Clancy School
I am from Missoula and have taught science in Montana for 30 years; 2 in Miles City, 2 in Billings, and 26 in Clancy. I have also taught Health Enhancement in Clancy for 25 years. I started the Science Olympiad program at Clancy in 1989 and have seen many students choose a science profession because of it! My teams have enjoyed success throughout the years, especially in 2011, when we won the State Championship and competed at Nationals in Orlando, FL.


Walt Woolbaugh is a middle school science teacher in Manhattan, and also an adjunct professor with the MSSE program at MSU.  He has participated in the Science Olympiad since it started in Montana in 1985.