MT Science Olympiad

Science Math Resource Center

401 Linfield Hall, MSU PO Box: 172804

Bozeman, MT 59717 Email:


Toll Free: 800-455-7837 ph: 406-994-6768

fax: 994-3733

History of Montana Science Olympiad

The first Montana Science Olympiad competition was held on the MSU campus October 15, 1985. Ten events were offered for both divisions: Science Bowl, Pentathlon, Fermi Questions, Titration Race, Rocks to Riches, Qualitative analysis, Password, Facts in Five, Paper Airplane, and Orienteering.

Teams from 17 school districts competed in the first Science Olympiad with seven junior high and thirteen high schools. The schools participating in the junior high division included: Bozeman, Florence-Carlton, Manhattan, Monforton, Poplar, St. Labre Catholic Indian School, and Willson Middle School. The high school division was made up of thirteen schools: Bozeman, Capital, Dawson County, Drummond, Florence-Carlton, Hellgate, Manhattan, Poplar, Sentinel, Sidney, St. Labre Catholic Indian School, Sunburst, and Whitehall. Student participants numbered just under 300.

The top teams in the First Montana Science Olympiad were: Division B--Florence-Carlton Junior High School, Bozeman Junior High School, and Willson Middle School of Bozeman; Division C--Bozeman High, Hellgate High and Sentinel High. The first place teams for each division competed in the National Competition at East Lansing, Michigan on May 16 and 17. Beginning in 1988, a small school champion trophy was awarded in both divisions.

Previous State Competition Winners 1985-2011
Year Division B - Middle School Small School Division C - High School Small School
1985 Florence - Carlton   Bozeman  
1986 Bozeman   Helena  
1987 Bozeman   Helena  
1988 Bozeman Monforton Helena Sunburst
1989 Big Timber Boulder Helena Big Sandy
1990 Bozeman Bonner Sentinel Manhattan Christian
1991 Big Timber Florence - Carlton Bozeman Florence - Carlton
1992 Big Timber   Bozeman  
1993 Big Timber Gallatin Home School Bozeman Manhattan Christian
1994 Big Timber Big Sandy Bozeman Manhattan Christian
1995 Big Timber Big Sandy Bozeman Big Sandy
1996 Big Timber Big Sandy Bozeman Valier
1997 Valier Clancy Valier Tie: Big Sandy and Manhattan Christian
1998 Big Timber Clancy Valier Big Sandy
1999 Sacajawea Valier Valier Fairfield
2000 Big Timber Fairfield Valier Sunburst
2001 Big Timber Absarokee Lewistown Big Sandy
2002 Big Sandy Fairfield Bozeman Carter County
2003 Big Timber Clancy Sidney Sunburst
2004 Big Timber Clancy Fergus Sunburst
2005 Big Timber Valier Big Sandy Carter County
2006 Big Timber Big Sandy Fergus Sunburst
2007 Big Timber Roosevelt Fergus Carter County
2008 CR Anderson Clancy Helena Sunburst
2009 Big Timber Roosevelt Helena Sunburst
2010 Corvallis Thompson Falls Helena North Toole
2011 Clancy Roosevelt Thompson Falls Sunburst
2012 Corvallis Big Sandy Billings Central Thompson Falls
2013 Corvallis Big Sandy Helena North Toole