Montana State University

Department of Psychology

Montana State University
P.O. Box 173440
Bozeman, MT 59717-3440

Tel: (406) 994-3801
Fax: (406) 994-3804
Location: 319 Traphagen Hall

Department Chair

Dr. Keith Hutchison
khutch@montana.edu

Dept Administrative Associate

Brenda Lewis
psydept@montana.edu

Make a Gift to the College of Letters and Science

Find us on Facebook

People in Our Department

Faculty

Hutchison, Keith A. (Ph.D. 2001, University at Albany-SUNY). Associate Professor and Department Chair. Cognitive psychology; attention, implicit and explicit memory, language, cognitive effects of aging and Alzheimer's Disease. Phone (406) 994-5528. E-mail: khutch@montana.edu

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Babcock, Michael A. (Ph.D. 1985, Colorado State University). Professor. Cerebral ischemia, neurobiology of learning & memory, sensation and perception. Phone (406) 994-5175. E-mail: mbabcock@montana.edu

Block, Richard A. (Ph.D. 1973, University of Oregon). Professor. Cognitive psychology: memory and attention, temporal information processing, psychology of time. Phone (406) 994-5173. E-mail: block@montana.edu

Brooker, Rebecca J. (Ph.D. 2011, The Pennsylvania State University). Assistant Professor. Developmental psychology, psychopathology and neuroscience; Early markers of risk for anxiety problems, developmental trajectories of putative markers of early risk. E-mail: rebecca.brooker@montana.edu

Handley, Ian M. (Ph.D. 2003, Ohio University). Associate Professor. Social psychology; social cognition, attitudes and persuasion, affect and decision-making. Phone (406) 994-6508. E-mail: ihandley@montana.edu

Lynch, Wesley C. (Ph.D. 1971, University of New Mexico). Professor. Physiological psychology; learning and motivation, behavior modification, eating disorders. Phone (406) 994-3803. E-mail: wlynch@montana.edu

Meade, Michelle L. (Ph.D. 2003, Washington University in St. Louis). Assistant Professor. Cognitive psychology; memory, cognitive aging, collaborative memory, individual difference in performance. Phone (406) 994-5946. E-mail: mlmeade@montana.edu

Skewes, Monica. (Ph.D. 2006, University of Texas at El Paso). Assistant Professor. Health psychology, addictive behaviors, minority health disparities, substance abuse treatment, harm reduction. E-mail: monica.skewes@montana.edu

Smith, Jessi L. (Ph.D. 2002, University of Utah). Professor. Social psychology; self-regulation of motivation, gender studies, interpersonal and achievement goals, stereotype threat. Phone (406) 994-5228. E-mail: jsismith@montana.edu

Matthew Vess. (Ph.D. 2010, University of Missouri). Assistant Professor. Social psychology; regulation of existential concerns, authenticity, self-esteem, health decisions. Phone (406) 994-5218. E-mail: matthew.vess@montana.edu

Assistant Teaching Professors

Barnes, Ralph (Ph.D.) Assistant Teaching Professor.  Introductory Psychology, Senior Thesis Capstone. Phone (406) 994-5172. E-mail: ralph.barnes@montana.edu

Adjunct Instructors

Heiser, Shawna (M.S. 1997, Montana State University; Board Certified Behavior Analyst, BCBA 2009). Behavior Modification, Psychology of Learning, Field Practicum). Phone (406) 994-4931. E-mail: sheiser@montana.edu. External Web site: www.speciallearning1on1.com

Manley, Krista (M.S., 2012, Montana State University). Judgment & Decision Making, Abnormal Psychology, others. Phone (406) 994-6921. E-mail: krista.manley@montana.edu

Marchak, Frank M. (Ph.D. 1988, Dartmouth College). Judgment & Decision Making, Senior Thesis Capston, Research Design & Analysis II. Research interests: Cognitive psychophysiology, memory, vision, credibility assessment. E-mail: frank.marchak@ecat.montana.edu

Russell, Elizabeth J. Psychology of Gender, Abnormal Psychology, SocialPpsychology. Phone (406) 994-6921. E-mail: elizabeth.russell2@montana.edu

Wieseler, Julie (Ph.D. 2001, University of Nebraska). Development Psychology, Contemporary Issues in Human Sexuality, Research Design & Analysis I and II. E-mail: julie.wieseler@montana.edu

Postdoctoral Researchers

Allen, Jill. (Ph.D. 2013, University of Nebraska- Lincoln). Applied social psychology, subtle prejudice, stereotype threat, diversity, objectification and dehumanization, body image. Email: jill.allen1@montana.edu

Brown, Elizabeth R.  (Ph.D. 2011, Miami University). Social psychology; understanding group differences, goals and motivation, system justification, social change, political psychology. E-mail: elizabeth.brown13@montana.edu. External Web site: http://elizabethrbrown.weebly.com/

Retired Faculty (Recent)

Moore, Colleen F. (Ph.D. 1978, University of Illinois). Professor. Early life effects on behavior such as prenatal alcohol, prenatal stress, and environmental pollutants. Risk perception and moral reasoning about hazards. Phone (406) 994-5174. E-mail: colleen.moore1@montana.edu

Whitford, Fred (Bill) W. Adjunct Assistant Professor. Introductory Psychology; Abnormal Psychology. E-mail: fred.whitford@msu.montana.edu. Snail-mail, FedEx, and UPS: 1765 Moffit Gulch, Bozeman MT 59715. Home: 406-587-2851; Cell: 406-539-2280

Administrative Associate

Brenda Lewis
E-mail: psydept@montana.edu
Department phone 1-406-994-3801
Department fax 1-406-994-3804

Mailing Address:
Department of Psychology
304 Traphagen Hall
P O Box 173440
Montana State University
Bozeman, MT 59717-3440