Montana State University

Justin Cook, Director

jcook@montana.edu

Kirk Lubick, Biosafety Officer

Kirk.Lubick@montana.edu

Curtis Hofer, Radiation Safety Officer

chofer@montana.edu

Elizabeth Nicholas, Committees Coordinator

nicholas@montana.edu

Diane Harn, Compliance Specialist

dwharn@montana.edu

Jerome Dixon, Computer Sftwr Eng/Appl II

jrdixon@montana.edu

 

Comments or Concerns

Email: orc@montana.edu

 

Research Compliance

Technology / Export Control Plan (T/ECP)

This project/activity involves the use of Export-Controlled Information (ECI).  As a result, the project/activity comes under the purview of either the State Department’s International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), or the Department of Commerce’s Export Administration Regulations (EAR).  Links to information about EAR and ITAR regulations are found on the University Research Compliance website, and from the Office of Legal Counsel, 211 Montana Hall, 406.994.4570. 

It is unlawful under the EAR or ITAR to send or take Export-Controlled items or information out of the U.S.  This includes disclosing information orally or visually, or transferring export-controlled items or information to a foreign person inside or outside the U.S. without proper authorization. Under the ITAR or the EAR, an export license may be required for foreign nationals to access Export-Controlled Information.  A foreign person is a person who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien of the U.S. The law makes no exceptions for foreign graduate students. 

Pertinent technical information, data, materials, software, or hardware, i.e.; technology generated from this project, must be secured from use and / or observation by unlicensed non-U.S. citizens.  Security measures will be appropriate to the classification involved. 

In order to prevent unauthorized exportation of protected items / products, information, or technology deemed to be sensitive to National Security or economic interests; a Technology / Export Control Plan (T/ECP) may be required.  If so, this is a basic template for minimum elements of a T/ECP.  Click here for the Technology / Export Control Plan (T/ECP) template.