MAE4-HA MEETING

Annual Conference Bozeman, MT October 18, 2010



President Karole Sommerfield called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. during Annual Conference in Bozeman, Montana October 18, 2010.

Present were: Jennifer Wells, Laurie Lautt, Sheryl Knowles, Roni Baker, Jane Wolery, Dave Brink, Wendy Wedum, Travis Standley, Sharla Sackman, Janna Kincheloe, Wade Whiteman, Nico Cantalupo, Andrea Sarchet, Katelyn Andersen, Meghan Phillippi, Jolynn Miller, Danica Jamison, Joe Broesder, Stephanie Davison, Carol Benesh, Doug Steele, Marsha Goetting, Nicole Winkler, Shelley Lee Miller, Roubie Younkin, Ann Ronning, Sheila Friedrich, Ardis Oelkers, Jodi Pauley, Steve Siegelin, Dave Bertelsen, Tara Andrews, Christina M. McRae, Larry Brence, Adele Stenson, Alice Burchak, Dave Phillips, Campbell Barrett, Rae Lynn Hays, Lisa Terry, Karole Sommerfield, Rene Kittle

Minutes: Minutes from the July meeting were presented. A motion was made to dispense with the reading of the minutes and accept the Minutes as presented, Motion seconded. All in favor, none opposed, Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: Rene Kittle presented the Treasurer's Report for July 7 to October 18, 2010. The balance on hand on October 18, 2010 was \$3,585.45. These funds include \$875 from a 4-H Foundation Grant for professional development for association member agents travelling to NAE4-HA, first timer monies from NAE4-HA in the sum of \$425.00, and association funds to pay for professional development.

Rene explained the \$875.00 grant would be divided among MAE4-HA member agents travelling to NAE4-HA. Rene noted that she had communication that the State 4-H office had a separate pool of money for travel. The Association will have the \$875.00 in addition to the \$2,000.00 the association pays each year for national travel. RDHs will pay the registration fee for NAE4-HA. Karole explained the first timer money in the sum of \$425 from NAE4-HA Western Region. Because the money has not been applied for it was sent to states to use for association members travelling for the first time to NAE4-HA. A discussion was held concerning how the first timer money should be used for those travelling to NAE4-HA this year. Meghan Phillippi and Stephanie Davison are the only MAE4-HA first time attendees this year. After discussion a Motion was made by Jane Wolery to divide the money between those MAE4-HA members travelling to NAE4-HA for the first time. Motion seconded by Carole Benesch. All in favor, none opposed, Motion passed.

Thank you to Larry Brence, Dave Phillips & Steve Siegelin For paying NAE4-HA registration fees for association members & agents attending

Karole asked if anyone would entertain a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report. A motion was made to accept the Treasurer's Report, Motion seconded. All in favor, none opposed, Motion passed.

Committee Reports:

Programs – Roni Baker: The National Extension Conference on Volunteerism (NECV) will be in Coeur d'Alene Idaho in April. This may be the closest we get to a national extension conference. A handout was provided with key dates, purpose, intended audience and website details. Roni said the program is a great opportunity to attend.

Member Recognition – Tara Andrews, no report

Diversity – Rene Kittle briefly explained that the three diversity kits are completed, one for each region. The kits were shared at the Leaders Forum in Deer Lodge; one kit was taken to Damon Bunting in Glacier County and one kit was delivered to Nicole Winkler in Daniels County.

Public Relations – Jane Wolery, no report

Finance Committee – Sharla Sackman:, no report

Nominating Committee – Rae Lynn Hays, no report

Membership – Nico Cantalupo, no report

Professional Development – Meghan Phillippi, no report

Policy & Resolutions: Campbell Barrett, no report

Old Business

NAE4-HA Phoenix Arizona – October 24-28 2010: Karole mentioned the known contingent of MSU agents and state office attendees travelling to Arizona for NAE4-HA in Phoenix. NAE4-HA will be in Omaha in 2011.

New Business

Election of New Officers: President & Vice President (2 year terms), January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2012. Karole mentioned this is the year for election of officers and that Rae Lynn Hays, as Past President would handle the ballots and election. Rae Lynn Hays announced the candidates for President: Campbell Barrett and Meghan Phillippi, and for Vice President: Andrea Sarchet and Roubie Younkin. Rae Lynn handed out ballots and Rae Lynn and Rene tallied the ballots. After the ballots were tallied Meghan Phillippi was announced President and Roubie Younkin, Vice President.

Congratulations to the new officers! **Meghan Phillippi** & **Roubie Younkin**

Karole mentioned that Meghan would be the next President eligible to attend the national Joint Council of Extension Professional (JCEP) meeting in February.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Rene Kittle