The goal of the Faculty Symposium – a joint initiative of the President’s Office, Office of Academic Affairs, Center for Faculty Excellence and Academic Technology and Outreach is to feature exemplary practices in pedagogy, classroom technology, teaching innovations and the teaching-learning mindset furthered our mutual understanding of faculty teaching practices, needs and opportunities as educators and to shape the future of instructional innovation on our campus.

2020 Faculty Symposium: Inclusive Excellence in Equity-Minded Education

Tuesday, October 6, 2020 || 9:30 am - 2:00 pm || SUB Ballroom D or WebEx

Image for the Symposium

Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • 9:30 - 9:40 am
    • David Singel, Senior Vice Provost
    • Dean Adams, Director, Center for Faculty Excellence


  • 9:40 to 10:55 am - Beyond the Pandemic - innovative practices discovered during Covid-19 that will persist beyond the pandemic.
    • Presentations by 
      • Josh DeWeese, Jennifer Luebeck, Joe Hicks
      • Mac Burgess
      • Derek Williams
      • Bradford Watson
  • 11:00 am - 12:20 pm - High Quality High Impact Practices - how MSU faculty are employing HQ HIPs in their courses.
    • Panel: Shannon Willoughby, Michelle Miley, Marvin Lansverk, Rebecca Jones, Brian Brush
  • 12:30 - 2:00 pm - Equity-Minded Pedagogies - how MSU faculty are committed to addressing racial and social inequities and injustices through equity-minded pedagogy and curriculum.
    • Panel: Sweeney Windchief, Nina Schweppe, Bryce Hughes, Franke WIlmer


  • Dean Adams

register now

If you would like to attend via Webex, please indicate that in the comments section and the link will be sent to you before the session.


2019 MSU Faculty Symposium: Inspiring Excellence in Teaching and Learning

SEPTEMBER 26th, 9:30 am - 3:00 pm in Inspiration Hall, Norm Asbjornson Hall

The goal of the second MSU Faculty Symposium is to build awareness of best practices, create opportunities for communities of support around teaching innovation and to build bridges between practicing experts and interested faculty so that successful strategies can be shared and improved. 

9:00 am          Registration

9:30 am          Welcome Remarks, Provost Robert Mokwa

9:45 am         Overview of High Impact Practices (HIPS), High Quality (HQ) HIPS, Senior Vice Provost David Singel

10:00 am        First Year Experience, Moderator: Dean Adams, Director, Center for Faculty Excellence

Panelists: Deborah Blanchard, University Studies; Susan Dana, Bracken Center for Excellence in Undergraduate Business Education; Lisa Perry, Native American Studies; Tony Hartshorn, Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

11:00 am        E-PortfolioModerator: Steve Swinford, Sociology and Anthropology

Panelists: Marianne Brough, Office of Student Engagement; Joe Schumacher, Veteran Services; Matt Caires, Dean of Students; Judi Haskins, Student Success

12:00 pm       CORE Re-Invigoration, Moderator: Tami Eitle, Vice Provost

Panelists: Shannon Willoughby, Physics; Jennifer Green, Mathematical Sciences; Matthew Regan, Library; Dean Adams, Center for Faculty Excellence

1:00 pm       Independent Experiential Learning: Research, Internships and Capstones, Moderator: Colin Shaw, Director, Undergraduate Scholars Program


  • Mentoring in Research: Erik Grumstrup, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Christina Rogers Stanton, Education;
  • FYRE: Mari Eggers, Microbiology & Immunology; Nick Stadie, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Experiential Learning: Ralph Johnson, Architecture
  • Capstone: Theo Lipfert, Film and Photography;
  • Internship and Digital Literacy: Molly Todd, History

2:30 pm         Closing remarks and Next Steps

2018 Symposium

The inaugural MSU Faculty Symposium: Inspiring Excellence in Teaching and Learning was held onNovember 8, 2018. The symposium – a joint initiative of the President’s Office, Office of Academic Affairs, Center for Faculty Excellence and Academic Technology and Outreach – featured a stimulating array of fast-paced presentations from MSU faculty. A post-symposium reception in Barnard Hallwashosted by Academic Technology and Outreach.