The Center for Faculty Excellence announces six faculty members and a postdoctoral associate who have been awarded Instructional Innovation Grants for 2020/2021.

The Instructional Innovation Grants are intended to give faculty funding to create and develop new methods to improve their teaching and student learning with the goal of increasing student success. Faculty proposals for $4,000 are selected based on their potential for teaching innovation, assessment plan that includes measurement of outcomes, potential breadth of impact on instruction beyond a single course, potential for outcomes that will improve future teaching, potential contribution to the scholarship of teaching and learning (public dissemination of assessment measurement of outcomes), alignment to MSU mission and strategic plan via contribution to one or more core values or strategic goals, and effective use of funding. The Instructional Innovation Grant proposal guidelines are released each January and successful proposals are normally announced in March.

The following were selected from a strong pool of excellent proposals recognizing their dedication to teaching and student learning:

 “I Had a Story to Tell”: Repositioning Pedagogy for Enhanced Interdisciplinary Teacher Education”

  • Christine Stanton, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Education;
  • Allison Wynhoff-Olsen, Ph.D. Associate Professor, English; and
  • Nigel Waterton, Ed.D. Assistant Teaching Professor, Education

Promoting Student Engagement and Active Learning in Precalculus: Data-based Decision Making from Real-Time Data

  • Derek A. Williams, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Mathematics Education, Mathematical Sciences

Food System Case Studies for Enhancing Interdisciplinary Learning

  • Selena Ahmed, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Health and Human Development and
  • Roland Ebel, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Research Associate, Department of Health and Human Development

Heart Math: Physiological Feedback for Stress Reduction in a University Population

  • Alice Running, PhD, APRN, Professor, College of Nursing

Learn more about the Instructional Innovation Grants and past awardees