MSU has assembled a team of faculty leaders in online and remote teaching to serve as peer advisors and provide general support, serve as a sounding board for your concerns and ideas, and show by example how things can be done in a triage mode. 

The faculty listed below are available by college to assist their colleagues. This is not intended to replace the support provided by CFE, ATO and others, but to provide you with connections to experienced faculty colleagues for guidance.

In addition, this page contains links to video, tutorials, and general guidance produced by faculty that is especially helpful.

Name

Email

College

Bob Peterson

bpeterson@montana.edu

COA

Scott Powell

spowell@montana.edu

COA

Shannon Arnold

shannon.arnold@montana.edu

COA

Brock LaMeres

lameres@montana.edu

COE

John Graves

graves@montana.edu

CLS/MSSE

Marvin Lansverk

lansverk@montana.edu

CLS

Heather Hardester

heather.hardester@montana.edu

CLS

Jennifer Hill

jennifer.hill10@montana.edu

CLS

Ann Ellsworth

ann.ellsworth@montana.edu

EHHD

Lisa Brown

lisa.brown@montana.edu

Gallatin College

Denise Riebe

denise.riebe@montana.edu

A&A

Ginny Bratton

virginia.bratton@montana.edu

Business

Myleen Leary

myleen.leary@montana.edu

Business

Ed Gamble

edward.gamble@montana.edu

Business

Alice Running

alice.running@montana.edu

Nursing

 

Additional Resources

John Graves, Master of Science in Science Education Program

John Graves, faculty member and associate director of the Master of Science in Science Education Program, has a lot of excellent tips and information about online teaching on his website: John Graves website

Brock LaMeres, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Brock LaMeres, professor of electrical and computer engineering and director of the Montana Engineering Education Research Center, also has a lot of experience with online teaching. To assist colleagues who haven’t done lecture capture videos, he made a quick start video that he is sharing:

Bob Peterson, Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Bob Peterson, professor of entomology in the Department of Land Resources and Environmental Sciences and director of the online Masters Program in Environmental Sciences, shared this helpful PowerPoint presentation that gives a real example of quickly transitioning from face-to-face content to online content:

Bob Peterson also created these short 10-minute lesson on predator-prey functional response curves for his Insect Ecology course (BIOE 422 / ENTO 510). They will be part of next week’s online content for the course. The second link was recorded earlier and will be part of next week’s content as well. These two recordings demonstrate that you don’t have to create perfect content right now. The main focus is to create resources that will bridge the gap from face-to-face instruction to online instruction.

**You will need to log into your TechSmith Relay account to view these videos.

Shannon Willoughby, Physics

Polling as part of an exam review

Shannon Willoughbyrecorded a 5 minute tutorial video demonstrating how she uses the polling feature in WebEx to conduct an exam review session using WebEx and D2L.

She explains it clearly (the why and how) and shows each of the steps and also shared a copy of the integrity statement that she has students sign before the exam.

Integrity Statement: 

By entering my name below, I certify and attest that I will and did not use any other electronic or hardcopy materials besides what is given solely on this exam webpage or receive help from any other person while taking this exam. (Enter your name below.)

_____________________________(/name/)

(This is at the top of the exam on Brightspace D2L. Students get 1 point for typing their name in the blank.)