# **MSUASC Monthly Meeting Minutes**

October 18, 2023 9:00 am – 11:00 am

SUB 168

All Staff Council Membership					
Jonathan Dove, Chair	x	Molly Lammers, Chair-Elect	x	Vacant, Past Chair	n/a
Lisa Yarnell, Member-at-Large	x	Victoria Stallings, DEI - Chair	x	Aurora Dreyer, Governance - Chair	Е
Vacant, Chair Professional Development Committee	n/a	vacant, Special Events Chair	n/a	Maggie Schmutz DEI Member	x
Teri Nightingale, DEI Member	x	Daniel Huttinger, Governance Member	x	Hunter Young, Governance Member	x
Holly Hillis, Professional Dev. Member	x	Seth Miranda, Professional Dev. Member	А	Kayla Lee <i>,</i> Special Events Member	x
Julie Watson, Special Events Member	x	John Ooley, Budget Council	А	Stephanie Breen, Campus Sustainability (CSAC)	x
Mackenzie Spence, Classroom Committee	x	Samantha Van Horssen, Outreach & Engagement	x	Patrick Baciu, Parking Appeals	x
Polly Kogel, Public Arts & Artifacts	x	Kristin Blackler, Planning Council	А	Nancy Pedersen PAB & MUSSA Chair	x
Kimberly Hilmer, Space Management	x	Elizabeth Olson, Research Council	x	Evan Greenwood, UFPB	x
vacant, Transportation Advisory Committee	n/a	Alisha Downs, General Member	A	Shawn Hudson, General Member	E
Genevieve Burmeister, General Member	x	Guest: Michael Stanley	x	Guest: Randy Crandall	x
Guest: Ron Brekke	x	Visitor: Catherine Hahola		Beverly Garrison, Program Coordinator	x

## I. Call to Order

II. Approval of Minutes September 20, 2023, not distributed before the meeting, will be approved in Nov.

## III. Public Comment

#### IV. Speakers

a. Michael Stanley, Chief of Police, and Lt. Randy Crandall Parking Task Force Report

#### V. Previous Business

#### VI. New Business

## VII. President's Meeting Update - Jonathan Dove

Jonathan met with the President and VP Terry Leist in September. Jonathan finds that we are getting good results out of these meetings.

- 1) Giving Day has been retired; therefore, we must rethink how the council funds the All-Staff Scholarship. The President recommends that any fundraising for the scholarship go through the Alumni Foundation. Jonathan will reach out to the new Foundation President.
- 2) Continuation of Staff Awards. Staff awards lost their home when the Provost Award Ceremony became the Founders Day Celebration, which is faculty-focused. The Staff Awards will now be housed in the Celebrating Excellence in Service and Employees of the Year Celebration.

# **MSUASC Monthly Meeting Minutes**

October 18, 2023 9:00 am – 11:00 am *SUB 168* 

 Intersection of Kagy & 7<sup>th</sup>, dangerous combination of foot traffic, bicyclists, and vehicles, especially 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm. It took 20 minutes to get onto Kagy from 7<sup>th</sup>, and tensions were palatable. Immediately, UPD started stationing officers to direct traffic, which improved the situation.

Jonathan asks that ideas, suggestions, and complaints be forwarded to <u>jonathan.dove@montana.edu</u>; he will bring them to the next meeting.

# VIII. MUSSA Information - Nancy Pedersen MUSSA

Nancy attended her first meeting.

• MUSSA plans to meet virtually with the BOR in November or January. She asked for Council members ' input. There was robust discussion around several items. Jonathan proposed adding an item to the November Agenda to finalize a list for MUSSA to consider.

## IX. Informational Items

ASC & Faculty Senate Reception, November 8<sup>th</sup>, 2023, from 4:00 pm- 6:00 pm. The location is yet to be confirmed.

# X. ASC Committee Updates

- a. DEI Chair Victoria Stallings
- b. Governance Chair Aurora Dryer
- c. Professional Development Chair TBA
- d. Special Events Chair TBA

## XI. External Committee Reports – as time allows. Reports are posted on SharePoint.

- a. Budget Council John Ooley
- b. Campus Sustainability Advisory Council Stephanie Breen
- c. Classroom Committee Mackenzie Spence
- d. Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee Victoria Stallings, MSUASC DEI Chair
- e. Outreach & Engagement Council Samantha Van Horssen
- f. Parking Appeals Patrick Baciu
- g. Personnel Board TBA
- h. Planning Council Kristin Blackler
- i. Public Arts & Artifacts Committee Polly Kogel
- j. Research Council Elizabeth Olson
- k. Space Management Kimberly Hilmer
- I. Transportation Advisory Committee TBA
- m. University Facilities Planning Board (UFPB) Evan Greenwood

# XII. Informational Items

## XIII. Adjourn

# Next Meeting:

November 15, 2023 9:00 am – 11:00 am SUB Ballroom B