Angella Ahn with the 2019-2020 Violina and Viola Studio

At Montana State University, both Music Majors and Non-majors can take individual lessons, called Applied Studies. The School of Music has 18 faculty members that teach over 150 students from 40+ different degree programs on a variety of instruments. In Applied Studies, students get a one on one lesson with faculty members and attend a group studio class weekly. During a one on one lesson, students study solo works or orchestra excerpts for their instrument as well as perfecting scales and other important techniques. In-studio classes, students play and study with other students learning the same instrument. Studio classes focus on playing in a chamber setting and allow students to meet and collaborate.
When enrolled in Applied Studies, students have access to Howard Hall 24/7, which is equipped with practice rooms that are open to the public. Practice rooms are furnished with a piano, and select practice rooms have a computer or percussion instruments.
Instruments are available for students enrolled in Applied Studies to use at no cost. Depending on size, a limited number of lockers are available for students bringing their instruments.

Woodwinds

Flute

Susan Makeever

Susan Calebaug-Makeever, M.M.

Instructor
Flute Performance and Instruction, Flute Pedagogy, Flute Choir

   Howard Hall 172
   (406) 994-5939
   susan.makeever@montana.edu

Oboe

Beth Antonopulos

Beth Antonopulos

Assistant Teaching Professor
Oboe and English horn; music history

   Howard Hall 170
   (406) 580-8225
   beth.antonopulos@montana.edu

Bassoon

Dorian Antipa

Dorian Antipa

Instructor

   Howard Hall 172
   (406) 994-9939
   dorian.antipa@montana.edu

Clarinet

Gregory Young

Gregory Young

Professor
Clarinet, music composition and undergraduate research

   Howard Hall182
   (406) 994-5753
   gyoung@montana.edu

Saxophone

Ryan Matzinger

Mr. Ryan Matzinger

Assistant Professor
Jazz History, Jazz Studies, Applied Saxophone, American Studies

   Howard Hall 137
   (406) 994-5743
   ryan.matzinger@msu.montana.edu

Jacob Fleming

Instructor

    Howard Hall 137
   (406) 994-5743
   jacob.fleming@montana.edu

 

Students wishing to take lessons on Saxophone will study with Jacob Fleming. Advanced students of any instrument wishing to study Jazz may request to study with Mr. Ryan Matzinger. 

Brass

Horn

Mike Nelson

Mike Nelson

Assistant Teaching Professor
Horn and Natural Horn, Wind Quintet, Enjoyment of Music

   Howard Hall 138
   (406) 994-3562
   michael.nelson29@montana.edu

 

Trumpet

Sarah Stoneback

Dr. Sarah Stoneback

Assistant Professor
Trumpet Pedagogy and Performance, Application of Learning Theories

   Howard Hall 120
   (406) 994-3562
   sarah.stoneback@montana.edu

 

Low Brass (Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba)

Jeannie Little

Dr. Jeannie Little

Assistant Professor
Applied trombone, euphonium and tuba, and University Band, Brass Pedag

   Howard Hall 139
   (406) 994-5759
   jeannie.little@montana.edu

 

Percussion

Stephen Versaevel

Stephen Versaevel

Associate Professor
Percussion performance and pedagogy

   Howard Hall 133
   (406) 994-5757
   stephen.versaevel@montana.edu

 

Strings

Violin/Viola

Angella Ahn

Angella Ahn

Associate Professor
Violin, Viola, Chamber Music

   Howard Hall 136
   (406) 994-5763
   angella.ahn@montana.edu

 

Cello/Bass

Julia Slovarp

Julia Slovarp, D.M.A

Assistant Teaching Professor
Cello and Bass Performance, Pedagogy, Historical Research

   Howard Hall 174
   (406) 994-5767
   julia.cory@montana.edu

 

Guitar

Michael Videon

Michael Videon

Associate Teaching Professor
Guitar Studio, Guitar Class, Guitar Ensemble

   Howard Hall 138
   (406) 994-5760
   mvideon@montana.edu

 

Piano

Mr. Kenneth Christensen

Assistant Teaching Professor
Piano Pedagogy, Music history, Music Theory, Class Piano and Theory

   Howard Hall 134
   kenneth.christensen1@montana.edu
Julie Gosswiller

Julie Gosswiller

Associate Teaching Professor
Piano, Ear Training, Piano Pedagogy, Chamber Music, Keyboard Skills

    Howard Hall 181
   (406) 994-5758
   jgosswiller@gmail.com

 

Vocal

Elizabeth Croy

Professor Elizabeth Croy

Professor
Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Somatic Practice, SEL

   Howard Hall 176
   (406) 994-5769
   ecroy@montana.edu

Frederick Frey

Instructor

    Howard Hall 186
   (406) 994-3562
   frederick.frey@montana.edu
Jon Harney

Jon Harney

Associate Professor

Voice and Choir

    Howard Hall 175
   (406) 994-5768
   jharney@montana.edu

 

Don't see your instrument listed? 

Please contact us at music@montana.edu if you do not see your instrument listed. 

 Looking for beginner lessons for yourself or a child? 

The Montana State University School of Music is proud to offer Bozeman's After-school Music or BAM to any 5th-7th grade students at participating schools. Please see our Outreach page for more information.


Students/Adults looking for beginner lessons are encouraged to reach out to the appropriate faculty member to be matched with a student instructor who, if available, will arrange a lesson time and fee.