## MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF NURSING

## POLICY # A-18

TITLE: COLLEGE OF NURSING SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

**POLICY:** The Scholarship Committee is made up of faculty members who are appointed by their

Campus Directors to individually coordinate the nomination of students from their campuses for College of Nursing scholarships and, as a group, to select recipients from among those

nominated each year.

**RATIONALE:** The College of Nursing offers many scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students

every year. Each scholarship has a list of criteria for the award. The Scholarship Committee members do the work of selecting the recipients for each scholarship based on the criteria.

**PROCEDURE:** The Committee is composed of faculty members from each campus, and is chaired by the

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs (non-voting) who also convenes the committee for its annual meeting. The committee members are responsible for announcing the scholarships each fall semester, posting the criteria for each scholarship, collecting the applications and/or nominations for their campus, and submitting them to the Bozeman Administrative Assistant who serves as the Secretary to the Committee. If needed, the Secretary reviews the nominees with the Financial Aid Office to determine the eligibility of

the student to receive the award if selected.

The Committee meets each January to select the recipients from among those nominated. The selected recipients are notified of the scholarship award in writing during the spring semester and are awarded the scholarship for the following academic year.

## Reviewed/Approved by:

Level I: Executive Council (May, 2014)

Level II: Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs (May, 2014)