

APPENDIX A

Commemorative Tributes Committee (CTC)

Naming Approval Process



Significant **Exterior Spaces**

MSU CTP 205.00 Spaces that are not a part of a building, but are part of the campus infrastructure including parking lots, assembly areas, malls and streets owned by the State of Montana and under the control of the Montana University System.

Items of Recognition

MSU CTP 204.00 Displays, including recognition walls, plaques, portraits, benches, sculptures, gardens or other memorials placed on any portion of University property that commemorate or honor individuals or organizations.

Academic **Positions**

MSU CTP 202.00 Professorships, chairs or other positions related to the academic programs of the University.

Require President's Approval

Development Officer and Dean define private naming opportunities and funding required. (Funding Plan)

MSUAF develops gift pyramid. (Naming Plan)

Development Officer and Dean present Funding Plan and Naming Plan to CTC at earliest available guarterly CTC Meeting.

CTC requests revisions to plan(s) or further information; goes to future CTC Meeting or

CTC approves.



2

3

CTC presents proposal to MSU President for approval.



Require Board of Regents Approval



MSUAF secures associated philanthropic gift(s).



Per BOR Policy 1004.1, MSU President submits proposal for Board of Regents

The Commemorative Tributes Committee will meet quarterly on the first Friday of the month in order to ensure a proactive involvement in the naming approval process.

Guiding Documents

Board of Regents Policy 1004.1: Naming of Property, Programs and **Interior Spaces**

MSU Commemorative Tributes Policy (MSU CTP)

MSUAF Philanthropic Naming Guidelines

Academic **Components**

MSU CTP 201.00 Units, departments, schools, colleges, institutes, centers and those academic programs that are not subordinate to colleges, schools, departments or centers.

Buildings

(MSU CTP 203.00) All buildings, athletic facilities and significant interior spaces such as theaters and auditoriums that seat more than 500 people, owned by the State of Montana and under the control of the Montana University System.