President's Commission on the Status of University Women

Executive Committee Meeting

December 14, 2017 – LJH 325

Minutes

Present: Brett Gunnink (Co-chair); Rebecca Belou (Co-chair); Jyl Shaffer; Betsy Danforth; Jessi Smith; Tracy Sterling; Leila Sterman; Yvonne Rudman

Welcome and Improving Communications. Leila Sterman, Women's Faculty Caucus, will be rescheduled to present an update on Caucus activities.

Approve Minutes. Minutes of November 9, 2017 meeting were approved and will be posted to PCOSUW website.

Update on CEDAW Working Group. Betsy Danforth attended the public organizational meeting of CEDAW; there was little additional information from what was presented to the Executive Committee at the November meeting. Dean Gunnink proposed checking with Legal Counsel to verify parameters of MSU involvement in CEDAW. This topic led to discussion speech issues on campus, including free speech, hate speech and offensive speech. Gunnink proposed purchasing copies of a book, Free Speech on Campus, for Commission members; he's found the book useful for addressing campus speech issues. The Committee will also consult with Legal Counsel regarding speech and communication guidelines.

Sub-committee reports.

- a. Assessment (Smith) Plan to collect further assessment data and to meet in spring.
- b. Communications (Rudman) The subcommittee is working on bolstering outreach primarily through the use of digital media. Articles of interest to female faculty, staff and students from various sources are being posted to the Commission's Face Book page. The FB page will also be used to promote Commission events.
- c. Nominations (Sterling) The chair of staff senate is retiring; a replacement will be announced soon.
- d. Policy (Shaffer) The Equity Advocate program no longer exists but may be revived through the diversity initiative. A Diversity Council has been established. The Chief Diversity Officer position description and content for a campus climate survey on diversity are in the process of being developed. The search for the CDO and the campus climate survey will commence shortly.
- e. Recognition (Danforth) The PCOSUW recognition award will be presented to Dr. Sara Rushing at Spring convocation.
- f. 125th Anniversary Event (Nika) Each month of the year's celebrations features a College or department; PCOSUW will recommend that each month include coverage of contributions made by women faculty, staff and students. The Event committee nomination and selection process to honor women who have made contributions to MSU throughout time will use inclusive and diverse criteria, including selection committee members and honorees from minority populations. The committee discussed options for a permanent spatial representation on campus to feature MSU women and their contributions; space in the new dining hall was suggested since it services a wide cross-section of students, staff, and faculty.

Full Commission member updates to Executive Committee: The EC will conduct discussions with representatives from the full commission to learn more about their efforts around diversity, equity and inclusion and identify how the EC can support their efforts.

The schedule for 2017/2018 updates is:

- i. 11/9/17 CEDAW Jan Strout and Lauren Gette-King
- ii. 12/14/17 Women's Faculty Caucus Leila Sterman
- iii. 1/11/17 Graduate Students Stephanie Wilson
- iv. 2/8/17 VOICE Center Alanna Sherstad
- v. 3/8/17 Women's and Gender Studies Kristen Intemann
- vi. 4/12/17 Family Advocates Bridget Kevane
- vii. 5/10/17 Center for Faculty Excellence Marilyn Lockhart

Future updates will include:

- i. DISC Ariel Donohue
- ii. Faculty Senate Julia Haggerty & Abbie Richards
- iii. Staff Senate Sylvia Sparkman
- iv. Professional Council Yvonne Rudman
- v. Human Resources Cathy Hasenpflug
- vi. MSU Great Falls Mary Kay Bonilla
- vii. MSU Billings Jennifer Lynn
- viii. MSU Northern Darlene Sellers
- ix. Department Heads John Paxton
- x. Deans Brett Gunnink
- xi. Extension Carrie Ashe
- xii. ASMSU Micah McFeeley

President Meeting: Co-chairs will meet with President Cruzado prior to the next meeting to discuss 125th Anniversary Events and PCOSUW co-chairs for next term.

Next meeting: January 11, 2018, 2-3pm, LJH 325 Submitted by Rudman, January 10, 2018