AY 16-17 Membership; Updated November 2016

Committee Homepage
CORE 2.0 Membership


Name Position Department Term# Ends
Adams, Dean Chair Art 8/19
Bonnand, Sheila Member Library 2 8/18
Merzdorf, Christa Member Cell Biology & Neuroscience 2 8/18
Organ, Chris Member  Earth Sciences 8/19 
VACANT Member      


Support development of CORE 2.0 Research/Creativity courses; determine which courses fulfill CORE 2.0 criteria and approve them for a period of six years, after which they will be reviewed for continued inclusion in the core; determine which courses need additional development to meet CORE 2.0 criteria (may receive two-year approval); provide support for faculty teaching these courses by creating opportunities for faculty to discuss what the criteria are really calling for and how the learning outcomes might be realized; clarify goals of the Research/Creativity area and recommend policies to address concerns that may arise; manage the assessment of all Research/Creativity courses and make recommendations to the CORE 2.0 Committee.


As required


Voting Members: Five faculty members appointed by Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education from college dean and Faculty Senate nominations. Selection based on faculty demonstrated commitment to general education and to ensure broad representation.

Length of Term

Faculty: Three years, renewable, staggered


Current -- Acting, Ron Larsen
Title -- Associate Provost
Appointed By -- Provost from college dean and Faculty Senate nominations.

Advisory To

CORE 2.0 Committee

Reports Due

As requested.