## Montana State University DEPSCoR Day 18 May 2023 Inspiration Hall, Norm Asbjornson Hall

W Grant St, Bozeman, MT 59715

7:30am **Registration, Coffee, and Poster Set-up** 8:30am Welcome & Opening Remarks Dr. Alison Harmon, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Montana State University 8:45am **Basic Research in the DoD** Dr. Bindu Nair, Director of Basic Research 9:05am **DEPSCoR** Overview Dr. Jennifer Becker, DEPSCoR Program Manager 9:30am **Tri-Service Basic Research Office Overview** Army Research Office – Dr. James Joseph Office of Naval Research – Dr. Ben Conley Air Force Office of Scientific Research – Mr. Neville Thompson 10:30am Break 10:50am Working with the DoD: Basic Research Program Officers Panel Air Force Office of Scientific Research – Dr. Bennett Ibey Office of Naval Research - Mr. Bill Nickerson/Dr. Meredith Hutchinson Army Research Office - Dr. Bob Kokoska 11:50am **Networking Lunch** 12:50pm Lessons Learned from DoD Awardees Dr. Joseph A. Shaw, Director of the Optical Technology Center and Distinguished Professor of Optics & Electrical Engineering, Montana State University Dr. Heidi Smith, Assistant Research Professor, Dept. of Microbiology and Cell Biology and Microscopy Facility Manager Center for Biofilm Engineering, Montana State University Dr. Robert Walker, Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Montana Materials Science Program, Montana State University 1:45pm **Poster Session Recap and Next Steps** 2:45pm **Reception and Concurrent Speed Networking Session (must submit research** 3:00pm-4:30pm menu in advance)

- Dr. Gregg Abate (AFOSR) Unsteady Aerodynamics and Turbulent Flows
- Dr. Bennett Ibey (AFOSR) Natural Materials and Systems
- Dr. Liz King-Doonan (ARO) Environmental Chemistry
- Dr. Chou Hung (ARO) Neurophysiology and Cognitive Neuroscience
- Dr. Paul Yu (ARO) Information Assurance
- Dr. James Joseph (ARO)/Dr. Neelam Gupta (ARL) Modern Optics
- Dr. Bob Kokoska (ARO) Microbiology
- Ms. Ivory Chaney (ARO) Education Outreach
- Dr. Ben Conley (ONR) Electrooptics and Infrared
- Dr. Meredith Hutchinson (ONR) Sustained Adaptability
- Dr. Tim Bentley (ONR) Naval Force Health Protection
- Mr. Bill Nickerson (ONR) Aerospace Structures & Materials