University Council MINUTES January 10, 2024 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM SUB, Room 235

Members:

Waded Cruzado, Dean Adams, Fran Albrecht, Justin Arndt, Sreekala Bajwa, Matt Caires, Leon Costello, Chris Dobbs, Ariel Donohue, Jonathan Dove, Tracy Ellig, Colter Ellis, Stephanie Erdmann, Chris Fastnow, Stephanie Gray, Jeannette Grey Gilbert, Brian Gillespie, Brett Gunnink, Alison Harmon, Stefani Hicswa, John How, Yves Idzerda, Greg Kegel, Ryan Knutson, Chere LeClair, Ilse-Mari Lee, Terry Leist, Dan Miller, Bob Mokwa, Jennifer Thomson, Doralyn Rossmann, Tricia Seifert, Steve Swinford, Kim Obbink, Craig Ogilvie, Kellie Peterson, Sarah Shannon, Cody Stone, Amber Vestal, Kristof Zaba, Jacob Zink

I. Call to Order

Provost Mokwa called meeting to order at 8:30am.

II. Approval of Minutes for December 6, 2023

Dean Yves Idzerda moved to approve minutes; Dean Sreekala Bajwa seconded, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

III. University Wide Information/Announcements

Provost Mokwa thanked Dean Kristof Zaba for his service as he departs; thanked Dean Dan Miller for his leadership in the Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship and welcomed him to his new role as Dean of International Programs and Global Engagement. He welcomed Dean Brian Gillespie to his first meeting as Dean of Jake Jabs College of Business and Entrepreneurship.

IV. Public Comment

There was no public comment offered.

- V. New Item
 - A. Commemorative Tributes Policy Revision Justin Arndt, Chief Compliance Officer

This oversees naming of new buildings and alignments between MSU Alumni Foundation and Board of Regents policies.

VI. Informational Item

A. Choosing Promise, Goal 2.4: Elevate Expectations for Scholarship *Chris Fastnow, Director, Office of Planning and Analysis*

Chris Fastnow shared achievements and progresses associated with this goal.

VII. Updates

Campus executives shared around the table updates.

Meeting adjourned at 9:27am.

NOTE: The next University Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 7, 2024, from 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM in SUB, Room 235.