Montana State University

30th Annual Awards for Excellence to honor 40 MSU seniors and their mentors

February 20, 2012 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Forty of Montana State University's top seniors and their faculty or staff mentors will be recognized Tuesday, Feb. 21, at the 30th annual Awards for Excellence banquet held on the MSU campus.

The MSU Alumni Foundation and the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce will sponsor the banquet. Honored students were nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

The award-winning students each selected a mentor who will be honored with them at the event.

Of the 40 students, seven seniors were chosen for the 2012 Torlief Aasheim Community Involvement Awards, the university's top award for student service. Click here to view a slideshow of the Awards for Excellence Torlief winners.

The 2012 Excellence Award winners and their mentors, listed by their college, are:

(Student, Major, Hometown, Mentor)

College of Agriculture:
Hannah Bigelow, biotechnology, Missoula, Mont., Rebecca Mattix
Erin Gunnink, environmental horticulture, Bozeman, Mont., Bill Hoch
Megan Podolinsky, environmental biology and Spanish, Helena, Mont., Geoffrey Poole

College of Arts and Architecture:
Mark Lee, photography, Winona, Minn., Christina Z. Anderson
Erin Swietnicki, art (metalsmithing), Bozeman, Mont., Bryan Petersen
Kluane Weibel, environmental design, Fairbanks, Alaska, Maire O'Neill
Carson Yahvah, music education, Helena, Mont., Julie Gosswiller

College of Business:
Kaitlyn Ash, finance and accounting, Bozeman, Mont., Angela Woodland
Jodie Kunesh, accounting, Chetek, Wis., Marc Giullian
Carl Nystuen, finance, Lakeside, Mont., Dave Foster
Molly Zander, accounting, Great Falls, Mont., Angela Woodland

College of Education, Health and Human Development:
Margaret Beardslee, elementary education, Bozeman, Mont., Ann De Onis
Jamie Diehl, family and consumer science-teaching option, Sandpoint, Idaho, Sandy Osborne
Jennifer Gauthier, health and human performance-exercise science, Columbus, Mont., Kathy Weaver
Ryan Hannahoe, elementary education, Leesport, Pa., Mary Leonard
Amanda Judisch, community health, Conrad, Mont., Dawn Tarabochia

College of Engineering:
Ethan Keeler, electrical engineering, Butte, Mont., Wataru Nakagawa
Paul Kolnik, civil engineering, Bozeman, Mont., Ted Lang
Joseph Thiel, chemical engineering, Idaho Falls, Idaho, George Metcalfe
Bryan Vadheim, chemical engineering, Miles City, Mont., Abigail Richards
Brieann Webber, civil engineering-bio-resources engineering option, Kalispell, Mont., Heidi Sherick
Chelsie Wharton, mechanical engineering, Billings, Mont., Sarah L. Codd
Wade Wilkison, mechanical engineering, Helena, Mont., Stephen Sofie
Nick Wills, computer science, Missoula, Mont., John Paxton
Chris Zimny, mechanical engineering, Billings, Mont., David Miller

College of Letters and Science:
Dema Alniemi, cell biology and neuroscience, Bozeman, Mont., Martha Sellers
Adam Arlint, sociology, Kalispell, Mont., Alanna Sherstad
Nathan Carroll, earth sciences: paleontology, Ekalaka, Mont., Dave Varricchio
Casey Donoven, mathematics, Kremlin, Mont., Lukas Geyer
Elizabeth Flesch, fish and wildlife management, Bettendorf, Iowa, Robert Garrott
Forrest Jarvi, anthropology, Salem, Ore., Michael Neeley
Kena Lackman, cell biology and neuroscience-biomedical option, Hysham, Mont., Sheila Nielsen-Preiss
Courtney Peck, physics, Sidney, Mont., Jiong Qiu
Shelby Rogala, history-science, the environment, technology, and society option and philosophy, Darby, Mont., Kristen Intemann
Virginia Schmidt, sociology, Cody, Wyo., Leah Schmalzbauer
Thomas Wright, biochemistry, Columbia Falls, Mont., Martin Teintze
Amanda Zellar, organismal biology, Billings, Mont., Rebecca Mattix

College of Nursing:
Sarah Balian, nursing, Shoreline, Wash., Barb Prescott
Donovan Cleveland, nursing, Whitefish, Mont., Angela St. John
Megan O'Leary, nursing, Paisley, Ore., Sheila Matye

Contact: Phillip Luebke, 406-994-2416,