Montana State University

MSU Presidential Scholarship winners announced

July 24, 2012

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
Nineteen students have been selected as recipients of the 2012 Presidential Scholarships, Montana State University's most prestigious scholarship.

MSU Presidential Scholarship awards are based on scholastic achievement, demonstrated leadership and personal qualities. Recipients receive an annual award of a $2,500 stipend plus a tuition waiver, bringing the total value over four years to $30,309 for Montana Residents and $80,858 for non-residents. The scholarship is renewable for four years based on maintaining superior academic standing at MSU.

MSU Presidential Scholarships are funded, in part, by individual donors who provide gifts to the Presidential Scholarship Endowment.

The 2012 Presidential Scholarship recipients beginning with Montana recipients, their high school and their intended major are:

Carol Baumbauer, graduate of Bozeman High School, engineering. Daughter of David and Cathy Baumbauer.

Andrew Major, graduate of Belgrade High School, pre-medicine and psychology. Son of Mark and Dawn Major.

Nicholas Peyton, graduate of Bozeman High School, bioengineering. Son of Brent and Kathleen Peyton.

Nathan Robertus, graduate of Heritage Christian School, film. Son of Bryan and Margaret Robertus.

East Helena
Thomas Lund, graduate of Helena High School, chemical engineering. Son of Duane and Blair Lund.

Great Falls
Dalton Albers, graduate of C.M. Russell High School, chemical engineering. Son of Mark and Lorelei Albers.

Samuel Bonilla, graduate of Great Falls High School, chemical engineering. Son of Victor and Leslie Bonilla.

Kathryn McNamee, graduate of Capital High School, cell biology and neuroscience. Daughter of Brian and Shannon McNamee.

Sadie Robertus, graduate of Joliet High School, English and music. Daughter of daughter of Mark and GayLynn Robertus.

Paige Bouma, graduate of Flathead High School, pre-veterinary medicine. Daughter of Dale Bouma and Bernadette Nickol.

Adelheid Langner, graduate of Hellgate High School. Daughter of Heiko and Ute Langner.

Clint Cooper, graduate of Polson High School, computer science. Son of Marion and Darlene Cooper.

Out of state recipients:

Carmel Valley
Thomas Kochevar, graduate of Carmel High School. Son of Randall Kochevar and Jane Lawler.

Jenna Pinto, graduate of Heritage High School, pre-medicine. Daughter of Glenn and Shawn Pinto.

Dayton Cooney, graduate of Mountain View High School, mechanical engineering. Son of Gerald and Paula Cooney.

Brooke Wimer, graduate of Borah Senior High School, English. Daughter of Burnell and Arlene Wimer.

Lake Oswego
Riley Shearer, graduate of Lakeridge High School, chemical and bioengineering. Son of Paul Shearer and Kathryn McCready.

Estella Wilmarth, graduate of Franklin High School. Daughter of Peter Wilmarth and Dorothea Schmeken.

South Carolina
Gabriel Mills, Mills Academy of Leadership, animal science-equine option. Son of Roderick and Elizabeth Mills.

Ilse-Mari Lee, director, University Honors Program at MSU, 406-994-4110,