Montana State University

Montana Space Grant Consortium awards 29 scholarships, fellowships, apprenticeships

July 30, 2012 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
BOZEMAN - Seven graduate students have received fellowships, 18 undergraduate students have received scholarships, and four undergraduates have received apprenticeships from the Montana Space Grant Consortium for 2012-2013.

Total value for the fellowships and scholarships is approximately $104,000, with each fellowship paying $7,500 plus in-state tuition and fees for one semester and each scholarship amounting to $1,500 for one year, said MSGC Education Specialist Joey Shapiro Key.

This year's scholarship winners attend Carroll College, Montana State University-Billings, MSU-Bozeman, Montana Tech, Rocky Mountain College, Salish Kootenai College, the University of Great Falls, the University of Montana or UM-Western. The fellowship winners attend MSU or UM.

The apprentices attend Salish Kootenai College and MSU-Bozeman. Several more apprenticeships will be awarded in August through MSU's Space Science and Engineering Laboratory, Key said.

Ten more scholarship winners will be announced in October, with one recipient at each of these Montana campuses: Stone Child College, Blackfeet Community College, Aaniiih Nakoda College, Fort Peck Community College, MSU-Northern, Dawson Community College, Miles Community College, Little Big Horn College, Chief Dull Knife College and Flathead Valley Community College.

Fellowship recipients, their disciplines, universities and fellowship projects are:
Michael Freed, physics at MSU-Bozeman, Space Public Outreach Team (SPOT) manager.
Casey Kanode, science and natural history film making at MSU-Bozeman, space science education film.
Sara Lowder, physics at MSU-Bozeman, SPOT manager.
Michael Running Wolf, computer science at MSU-Bozeman, analysis and preservation of Native American culture.
Sean Shriner, computer science at UM, AFM systems.
Christopher Sundberg, biological sciences at UM, neural and fluid dynamic responses on the kinetics of muscle performance.
Kathryn Williamson, physics at MSU-Bozeman, student understanding of gravity.

Scholarship recipients, their majors and schools are:
Matthew Barton of Billings, chemistry/biology, MSU-Billings
Nathan Boll of Bellingham, Wash., math/geology, UM-Western
Andrew Crawford of Kalispell, aerospace/mechanical engineering, MSU-Bozeman
Dominique David of Bozeman, earth sciences/geography, MSU-Bozeman
Robert James Davis of Ronan, computer engineering, Salish Kootenai College
Erica Hadden of Missoula, physics/Spanish, MSU-Bozeman
Amanda Kessell of Sidney, chemical engineering, MSU-Bozeman
Melissa Lewis of Seattle, Wash., mechanical engineering, MSU-Bozeman
Jordan McIntyre of Missoula, computer science, Rocky Mountain College
Mira Emerlo Marbella Mejala of San Diego, Calif., forensic science, University of Great Falls
Clark Miller of Missoula, physics/astronomy, UM
Abigail Nastan of Everett, Wash., geology, UM
Chantanelle Nava of Billings, physics, UM
Daniel Parod of Billings, physics/math, Rocky Mountain College
Katherine Steiner of Kalispell, mathematics, Montana Tech
Noel Stewart of Browning, hydrology, Salish Kootenai College
Samuel Thompson of Helena, mechanical engineering, MSU-Bozeman
Nathan Woods of Columbia Falls, computer science/math, Carroll College

Apprentices, schools and projects are:
Noel Stewart of Browning, Salish Kootenai College, the Blue Camas research project
Ryan Young of Rocky Boy, Salish Kootenai College, search coil magnetometer for aurora detection
Brian Redman of Sidney, MSU-Bozeman, testing a low-cost all-sky infrared cloud imager
Sanford Moore of Two Dot, MSU-Bozeman, electrodynamic tether assessment system

Fellowships and scholarships were made on a competitive basis to students enrolled in fields relevant to NASA's mission. These fields include but are not necessarily limited to the biological and life sciences, chemistry, geological and planetary sciences, physics and astronomy, mathematics, mechanical engineering, chemical engineering, electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer sciences and civil engineering.

Awardees had to be U.S. citizens enrolled full-time at a Montana Space Grant Consortium campus. Those campuses include Blackfeet Community College, Carroll College, Chief Dull Knife College, Dawson Community College, Flathead Valley Community College, Fort Belknap College, Fort Peck Community College, Little Big Horn College, Miles Community College, MSU-Billings, MSU-Bozeman, MSU-Northern, Montana Tech, Rocky Mountain College, Salish Kootenai College, Stone Child College, University of Great Falls, UM and UM-Western.

The apprenticeship program is a new opportunity for Montana students at all member institutions working in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). It allows the recipients to receive funding to work on a major research project with an adviser on their campus. MSGC apprenticeships are intended to be next steps after small undergraduate research projects and will typically take place during the academic year. Apprentices are required to present their work at the annual MSGC Student Research Symposium.

The MSGC is a member of the national Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, Key said. All 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico each have a Space Grant program that is funded to provide NASA scholarships and fellowships, as well as other higher education programs.

Evelyn Boswell, (406) 994-5135 or