Montana State University

Newly elected Montana county officials attend certification training

December 14, 2012 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571
BOZEMAN - Montana county officials attended the first session of an elected county officials training in Helena.

The two-year program is conducted by the Montana State University Extension Local Government Center in conjunction with the Montana Association of Counties. Of the 40 officials trained, 28 were elected to office in 2012.

The training consists of sessions on the functions of county government, local government law, the Montana legislative process, county special boards' government, human resource management and conflict resolution.

"The roles and responsibilities of a county commissioner are varied and challenging. From road maintenance to public health to land use, commissioners face complicated issues every day," said Dan Clark, director of the Local Government Center. "The commissioners attending this training have shown their commitment to learning and developing the skills they need to successfully serve their constituents."

While the training is open to all county officials, county commissioners earn certification after completing 40 hours of instruction over a two-year period.

Montana county officials who attended the training:

Anaconda-Deer Lodge County, commissioners-elect Kevin Hart, Patricia Mulvey and Terry Vermeire, Chief Executive-elect Connie Ternes-Daniels;

Blaine County, Commissioner-elect Charles Kulbeck;

Broadwater County, Commissioner-elect Franklin Slifka, County Attorney Karla Mae Bosse;

Butte-Silver Bow County, Chief Executive-elect Matt Vincent;

Carbon County, Administrative Assistant Angela Newell, Clerk of District Court Rochelle Loyning, Commissioner John Prinkki;

Cascade County, Commissioner Jane Weber;

Chouteau County, Commissioner-elect Robert Pasha;

Custer County, Commissioner-elect Kevin Krausz;

Fallon County, Commissioner-elect Steve Baldwin;

Flathead County, Commissioner-elect Gary Krueger;

Gallatin County, Sheriff Brian Gootkin;

Garfield County, Commissioner-elect Teddy Robertson;

Golden Valley County, Commissioner-elect Dean Blomquist;

Granite County, Commissioner-elect Bart Bonney;

Hill County, Commissioner-elect Mark Peterson;

Lake County, Commissioner-elect Gale Decker;

Madison County, Commissioner Dave Schulz;

Mineral County, Commissioner-elect Laurie Johnston;

Park County, Commissioner-elect Clint Tinsley;

Phillips County, Commissioner-elect Bruce Christofferson, Clerk of District Court-elect Tami Christofferson;

Pondera County, Commissioner-elect Janice Hoppes, Clerk of District Court-elect Laurie Eisenzimer;

Powder River County, Commissioner-elect Darold Zimmer

Ravalli County, Commissioner Greg Chilcott, Commissioner-elect Jeff Burrows;

Richland County, Commissioner-elect Duane Mitchell;

Rosebud County, Commissioner-elect Ed Joiner;

Sheridan County, Commissioner Bill Nyby, Commissioner-elect Keith Clawson;

Sweet Grass County, Commissioner-elect Robert Faw;

Teton County, Commissioner-elect Ronald Ostberg;

Toole County, Commissioner-elect Deb Brandon;

Yellowstone County, Clerk of District Court-elect Kristie Boelter.

Contact: Dan Clark, MSU Local Government Center Director, (406) 994-7756 or