Montana State University

31st annual Awards for Excellence to honor 40 MSU seniors and their mentors

February 15, 2013 -- MSU News Service

Subscribe to MSU Newsletters

Bobcat Bulletin is a weekly e-newsletter designed to bring the most recent and relevant news about Montana State University directly to friends and neighbors via email. Visit Bobcat Bulletin.

MSU Today e-mail brings you news and events on campus thrice weekly during the academic year. Visit the MSU Today calendar.

MSU News Service
Tel: (406) 994-4571

Forty of Montana State University's top seniors and their faculty or staff mentors will be recognized Tuesday, Feb. 19, at the 31st annual Awards for Excellence banquet held on the MSU campus.

The MSU Alumni Foundation and the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce will co-host the banquet. Honored students were nominated by faculty in their college or department. Qualified seniors must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, as well as demonstrated campus leadership and community service.

The award-winning students each selected a mentor who will be honored with them at the event.

The 2013 Excellence Award winners and their mentors, listed by their college, are:
(Student, Major, Hometown, Mentor)

College of Agriculture:
Elisa Boyd, environmental horticulture, Boulder, Colo., Jennifer Britton
Chisholm Christensen, agricultural education, Hinsdale, Mont., Gary Brester
Jamie Inglis, animal science, Central Point, Ore., Rebecca Mattix
Collin Preftakes, environmental science, Lyndeborough, N.H., Robert Peterson

College of Arts and Architecture:
Nicolais Cuyle, photography, Lincoln, Mont., Daniel Wise
Evan Burnett, environmental design, Loveland, Colo., Ralph Johnson
David Driscoll, graphic design, Bozeman, Mont., Jeffrey Conger
Ethan Cayko, music technology, Fairview, Mont., Stephen Versaevel

College of Business:
David Albright, finance, Bozeman, Mont., Gary Caton
Shaina Adami, marketing/management, Stillwater, Minn., Craig Ehlert
Anna Adolphson, accounting, Hamilton, Mont., Anne Christensen
Amanda Powell, accounting, Seattle, Wash., Angela Woodland

College of Education, Health and Human Development:
Austin Robbins, secondary education (general science broadfield), Columbia Falls, Mont., Lynn Kelting-Gibson
David Phillips, technology education, Deer Lodge, Mont., Scott Davis
Kara Landolfi, sustainable food and bioenergy systems, Missoula, Mont., Alison Harmon
Britney Brooks, history/teaching option, Great Falls, Mont., Christine Rogers Stanton
Sydney Reichhardt, food and nutrition, Butte, Mont., Coleen Kaiser

College of Engineering:
Michael Brent Zundel, civil engineering/Hispanic studies, Billings, Mont., Bridget Kevane
Hannah Arm, mechanical engineering, Bozeman, Mont., Sarah Codd
Eric Dietrich, civil engineering, Beaverton, Ore., Warren Jones
Beau Gibbs, mechanical engineering, Glendive, Mont., Sarah Codd
Susanne Grobler, mechanical engineering, Clyde Park, Mont., Sarah Codd
Rachael Luhr, computer science, Miles City, Mont., Clemente Izurieta
Tyler Ragen, construction engineering technology, Bozeman, Mont., Whitney Lutey
Minh Nguyen, computer engineering, Hanoi, Vietnam, Randy Larimer
Patrick Tate, chemical engineering/bioengineering/Hispanic studies, Vancouver, Wash., Ross Carlson

College of Letters and Science:
Derek Brouwer, history/religious studies, McMurray, Penn., Lynda Sexson
Gregory Doctor, cell biology and neuroscience, Kalamazoo, Mich., Steven Eiger
Jolene Ewert, sociology, Anaconda, Mont., Tamela Eitle
Sierra Method, anthropology/religious studies, Loveland, Colo., Laurence Carucci
Elizabeth Riley, English (teaching option), Broadus, Mont., Gretchen Minton
Hillary Stacey, chemistry (teaching option), Great Falls, Mont., Charles McLaughlin
Ann (Staudinger) Knoll, chemistry, Billings, Mont., Trevor Rainey
Katelyn Weber, mathematics, Kalispell, Mont., Mark Greenwood
Tara Will, cell biology and neuroscience, Helena, Mont., Aurene Sinnema
Kiah Abbey, political science, Billings, Mont., Marisa Bueno
Esther Yoon, cell biology and neuroscience, Bozeman, Mont., Sheila Nielsen-Preiss

College of Nursing:
Jamie Aipperspach, nursing, Missoula, Mont., Michelle Huntley
Shannon LaRocca, nursing, Great Falls, Mont., Susan Luparell
Courtney Pawlowski, nursing, Power, Mont., Kimberly Peterson


Contact: Kerry Hanson, 994-7620 or or Malaree Purcell, 994-2522 or